CPS INTAKE PoLICY, PROTOCOL, AND GUIDANCE

Purpose

In North Carolina, any person who has cause to suspect a child is being maltreated (abused or neglected, or is dependent), is required by law to report
their concerns to a county child welfare services agency. Child Protective Services (CPS) Intake is the first stage of the child welfare process and involves
screening child protective services reports to determine what further action is required. Careful, detailed, and thorough work at CPS Intake lays the
foundation for making well-informed decisions throughout the life of the case. The quality and consistency of the information gathered at CPS Intake
directly impacts the safety of the alleged victim children and any subsequent intervention.

The goal of CPS Intake is to make consistent screening decisions using a structured intake process based on specific criteria. The steps of CPS Intake are:

Complete a new CPS Intake in the Child Welfare Information System.

Consult the Maltreatment Screening Tool(s) that correspond to the allegations.

Determine the county responsible for completing the CPS Assessment.

Determine the appropriate Assessment Response Track (Investigative or Family) and Response Time (Immediate, 24 hours, or 72 hours).

PwnNPE

Following the steps above, the CPS Intake process determines whether the reported information meets the statutory guidelines for child maltreatment.
When a report is screened in (i.e., it meets the statutory requirements), CPS Intake determines the county responsible for the assessment, the response
track, the response time, and then the report is assigned for CPS Assessment.
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CPS INTAKE

Policy/Legal Basis

Policy

Legal Basis

North Carolina requires that anyone
who suspects child abuse, neglect, or
dependency must report their concerns
to the county child welfare services
agency. A person who makes a report
of suspected child abuse, neglect, or
dependency is immune from civil or
criminal liability if the report was made
in good faith.

County child welfare agencies must
receive, and screen all reports of abuse,
neglect, or dependency, regardless of
residency. Each county child welfare
services agency must have written
procedures for receiving CPS reports
and for providing supervisory decision-
making 24 hours a day.

N.C.G.S. §153A-257, Legal residence for social service purposes:

(a) Legal residence in a county determines which county is responsible (i) for financial support of a needy
person who meets the eligibility requirements for a public assistance or medical care program offered
by the county or (ii) for other social services required by the person. Legal residence in a county is
determined as follows:

(1) Except as modified below, a person has legal residence in the county in which he resides.

(2) If a person is in a hospital, mental institution, nursing home, boarding home, confinement
facility, or similar institution or facility, he does not, solely because of that fact, have legal
residence in the county in which the institution or facility is located.

(3) A minorhasthe legal residence of the parent or other relative with whom he resides. If the minor
does not reside with a parent or relative and is not in a foster home, hospital, mental institution,
nursing home, boarding home, educational institution, confinement facility, or similar institution
or facility, he has the legal residence of the person with whom he resides. Any other minor has
the legal residence of his mother, or if her residence is not known then the legal residence of his
father; if his mother's or father's residence is not known, the minor is a legal resident of the
county in which he is found.

(b) A legal residence continues until a new one is acquired, either within or outside this state. When a new
legal residence is acquired, all former legal residences terminate.

(c) This section is intended to replace the law defining "legal settlement."” Therefore, any general law or local
act that refers to "legal settlement" is deemed to refer to this section and the rules contained herein.

(d) If two or more county departments of social services disagree regarding the legal residence of a minor
in a child abuse, neglect, or dependency case, any one of the county departments of social services may
refer the issue to the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services, for
resolution. The Director of the Division of Social Services or the Director's designee shall review the
pertinent background facts of the case and shall determine which county department of social services
shall be responsible for providing protective services and financial support for the minor in question.

N.C.G.S. §7B-300, Protective Services:
The director of the department of social services [county child welfare services agency] in each county of
the state shall establish protective services for juveniles alleged to be abused, neglected, or dependent.
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Policy/Legal Basis

Policy

Legal Basis

The screening process requires
knowledge of the statutory definitions
of child abuse, neglect, dependency,
and caretaker. The county child welfare
services agency has the authority to
intervene only when the allegation, if
true, would meet the legal definitions.
Reports accepted for CPS Assessment
must clearly invoke the statutory
authority to provide Child Protective
Services.

Protective services shall include the screening of reports; the performance of an assessment using either a
Family Assessment response or an Investigative Assessment response; casework; or other counseling

services to parents, guardians, or other caretakers as provided by the director. These services will help the
parents, guardians, other caretakers, and the court to prevent abuse or neglect; to improve the quality of
childcare; to be more adequate parents, guardians, or caretakers; and to preserve and stabilize family life.

N.C.G.S. §7B-301, Duty to report abuse, neglect, dependency, or death due to maltreatment:

(a) Any person or institution who has cause to suspect that any juvenile is abused, neglected, or dependent,
as defined N.C.G.S. §7B-101, or has died as the result of maltreatment, shall report the case of that
juvenile to the director of the department of social services in the county where the juvenile resides or is
found. The report may be made orally, by telephone, or in writing. The report shall include information
asis known to the person making it including: the name and address of the juvenile; the name and address
of the juvenile's parent, guardian, or caretaker; the age of the juvenile; the names and ages of other
juveniles in the home; the present whereabouts of the juvenile if not at the home address; the nature
and extent of any injury or condition resulting from abuse, neglect, or dependency; and any other
information which the person making the report believes might be helpful in establishing the need for
protective services or court intervention. If the report is made orally or by telephone, the person making
the report shall give the person's name, address, and telephone number. Refusal of the person making
the report to give a name shall not preclude the department's assessment of the alleged abuse, neglect,
dependency, or death because of maltreatment.

(b) Any person or institution who knowingly or wantonly fails to report the case of a juvenile as required by
subsection (a) of this section, or who knowingly or wantonly prevents another person from making a
report as required by subsection (a) of this section, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

N.C.G.S. §7B 302(b) states: "When a report of a juvenile's death as a result of suspected maltreatment or a
report of suspected abuse, neglect, or dependency of a juvenile in a non-institutional setting is received the
director of the department of social services shall immediately ascertain if other juveniles remain in the
home, and, if so, initiate an assessment in order to determine whether they require protective services or
whether immediate removal of the juveniles from the home is necessary for their protection.”
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Policy/Legal Basis

Policy Legal Basis

N.C.G.S. §7B-309, Immunity of persons reporting and cooperating in an assessment.

Anyone who makes a report pursuant to this Article; cooperates with the county department of social services
in a protective services assessment; testifies in any judicial proceeding resulting from a protective services
report or assessment; provides information or assistance, including medical evaluations or consultation in

connection with a report, investigation, or legal intervention pursuant to a good-faith report of child abuse
or neglect: or otherwise participates in the program authorized by this Article; is immune from any civil or
criminal liability that might otherwise be incurred or imposed for that action provided that the person was
acting in good faith.

Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) requires health care providers involved in the delivery
and care of infants born with and identified as being affected by substance abuse, withdrawal symptoms
resulting from prenatal drug exposure, or a Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder to notify the child protective

services system of the occurrence.
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CPS INTAKE
Definitions

Definitions

Unless otherwise noted, the following definitions come from N.C.G.S. §7B-101.

Juvenile: A person who has not reached the person's eighteenth birthday and is not married, emancipated, or a member of the Armed Forces of the
United States.

Caretaker: Any person other than a parent, guardian, or custodian who has responsibility for the health and welfare of a juvenile in a residential
setting. A person responsible for a juvenile's health and welfare means a stepparent; foster parent; an adult member of the juvenile's
household; an adult entrusted with the juvenile's care; a potential adoptive parent during a visit or trial placement with a juvenile in the custody
of a department; any person such as a house parent or cottage parent who has primary responsibility for supervising a juvenile's health and
welfare in a residential child care facility or residential educational facility; or any employee or volunteer of a division, institution, or school
operated by the Department of Health and Human Services. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to impose a legal duty of support
under Chapter 50 or Chapter 110 of the General Statutes. The duty imposed upon a caretaker as defined in this subdivision shall be for the
purpose of this Subchapter only. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to impose a legal duty of support under Chapter 50 or Chapter
110 of the General Statutes. The duty imposed upon a caretaker as defined in this subdivision shall be for the purpose of this Subchapter only.
See also Caretaker Definition Decision Tool.

Relative: An individual directly related to the juvenile by blood, marriage, or adoption. This includes but is not limited to the following examples: a
grandparent, sibling, aunt, or uncle.

Abused Juveniles: Any juvenile less than 18 years of age (i) who is found to be a minor victim of human trafficking under G.S. 14-43.15 or (ii) whose
parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker

(a) Inflicts or allows to be inflicted upon the juvenile a serious physical injury by other than accidental means;

(b) Creates or allows to be created a substantial risk of serious physical injury to the juvenile by other than accidental means;

(c) Uses or allows to be used upon the juvenile cruel or grossly inappropriate procedures or cruel or grossly inappropriate devices to modify
behavior;

(d) Commits, permits, or encourages the commission of a violation of the following laws by, with, or upon the juvenile: first-degree rape, as
provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.2; rape of a child by an adult offender, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14- 27.2A; second-degree rape as provided in
N.C.G.S. §14-27.3; first degree sexual offense, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.4; sexual offense with a child by an adult offender, as provided in
N.C.G.S. §14-27.4A; second degree sexual offense, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.5; intercourse and sexual offenses with certain victims;
consent no defense, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-27.31 and N.C.G.S. §14- 27.32; unlawful sale, surrender, or purchase of a minor, as provided
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Definitions

in N.C.G.S. §14-43.14; crime against nature, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-177; incest, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-178 and N.C.G.S. §14-179;
preparation of obscene photographs, slides or motion pictures of the juvenile, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.5; employing or permitting the
juvenile to assist in a violation of the obscenity laws as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.6; dissemination of obscene material to the juvenile as
provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.7 and N.C.G.S. §14-190.8; displaying or disseminating material harmful to the juvenile as provided in N.C.G.S.
§14-190.14 and N.C.G.S. §14-190.15; first and second degree sexual exploitation of the juvenile as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-190.16 and
N.C.G.S. §14-190.17; promoting the prostitution of the juvenile as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-205.3(b); and taking indecent liberties with the
juvenile, as provided in N.C.G.S. §14-202.1, regardless of the age of the parties; or

(e) Creates or allows to be created serious emotional damage to the juvenile. Serious emotional damage is evidenced by a juvenile's severe
anxiety, depression, withdrawal, or aggressive behavior toward himself or others;

(f) Encourages, directs, or approves of delinquent acts involving moral turpitude committed by the juvenile; or

(g) Commits or allows to be committed an offense under N.C.G.S. §14-43.11 (human trafficking), N.C.G.S. §14-43.12 (involuntary servitude), or
N.C.G.S. §14-43.13 (sexual servitude) against the child.

Neglected Juvenile: Any juvenile less than 18 years of age (i) who is found to be a minor victim of human trafficking under G.S. 14-43.15 or (ii) whose
parent, guardian, custodian or caretaker does not provide any of the following:

does not provide proper care, supervision, or discipline.
Has abandoned the juvenile.
Has not provided or arranged for the provision of necessary medical or remedial care

or whose parent, guardian, or custodian has refused to follow the recommendations of the Juvenile and Family Team made pursuant to
Chapter 7B Article 27A.

(e) Creates or allows to be created a living environment that is injurious to the juvenile’s welfare.
(f) Has participated or attempted to participate in the unlawful transfer of custody of the juvenile under G.S. 14-321.2

In determining whether a juvenile is a neglected juvenile, it is relevant whether that juvenile lives in a home where another juvenile has died as a
result of suspected abuse or neglect or lives in a home where another juvenile has been subjected to abuse by an adult who regularly lives in the

home. Relevance in this instance is a legal term that means that the court can find a child neglected on the basis that he or she was living with a victim
child.
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CPS INTAKE
Definitions

Definitions

Dependent Juvenile: A juvenile in need of assistance or placement because the juvenile has no parent, guardian, or custodian responsible for the
juvenile's care or supervision or whose parent, guardian, or custodian, is unable to provide for the care or supervision and lacks an appropriate
alternative childcare arrangement.
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CPS INTAKE
Anonymous Reporters/Reporter Confidentiality

CPS INTAKE PROCESS

(A) Complete the Reporter Information, Mandatory Questions, Participant Information and Referral Narrative.

(B) Complete Step 1 of Screening and Response Tool: Maltreatment Allegations.
*Screen Outs go directly to (E) *Conflict of Interest, refer to policy

(C) Complete Step 2 of Screening and Response Tool: Connecting Maltreatment to Participants

(D) Complete Step 3 of Screening and Response Tool: Response Time and Assessment Track and Allegation Characteristics.
*Response Time and Track will auto-populate based on responses.

(E) Two-Level Review and Sign-off

Report or
Notification Received

Collect Reporter
information

|

Complete Mandatory
Questions*

!

Collect participant

*If a report is transferred from another county prior to the
Screening and Response portion being complete, the receiving
county should begin at Step 1 to screen the report.

*If there is a Mandatory
Screen Out, Complete Collection
of Narrative and Participant
Information and Determine if a
Notification is Required after 2™
Level Review.

*If a report is accepted/screened in by another county and
referred to your county it will be transferred
as an assessment case.

information
l If no maltreatment allegation is
Complete Step 1 of Was one or more selected, referral does not include an 2-Level review and sign off by
Collect Narrative Screening and Response maltreatment types allegation of abuse, neglect or supervisor or upper
ST dependency. management
Reporter Allegations SCREEN OUT

Select All that Apply

If Applicable, Complete
Notification to

Information from T Tool: Maltreatment
|
I
I
I
I Appropriate Entity:
I

DA/LE
Is there a CMARC DHSR/DCDEE/DSS
Notification No Military

Requirement? RAMS

Complete Step 3 of Screening

Complete Step 2 of and Response Tool: Response
ves Screening and Response Time and Assessment Track &
Tool: Connecting —» Allegation Characteristics. 2-Level review and sign off by supervisor :
i : Assign Assessment
] Maltreatment(s) to Response time and type will or upper management
Complete prior to

—_—— e ——— — —

Participants automatically populate based
on response.

screening process.
Proceed to Step 1.
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CPS INTAKE
Anonymous Reporters/Reporter Confidentiality

Protocol — What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

North Carolina legislation requires that the person making the report give
their name, address, and telephone number. However, refusal of the person
making the report to identify himself or herself does not relieve the county
child welfare services agency of its responsibility for conducting a CPS
Assessment if the allegations meet the statutory definition for acceptance.

North Carolina statute requires:
e The identity of the person making the report, and
e Allinformation obtained during a CPS Assessment must be held in
the strictest confidence by the county child welfare agency.

This statute does not grant the right of the reporter to remain anonymous.
However, the reporter must be informed that their identity will remain
confidential unless:
e Acourt orders otherwise;
e Alocal, state, or federal entity demonstrates a need for the
reporter’s name to carry out its mandated responsibilities.

Statute does not require that the reporter to possess any information
beyond a cause to suspect abuse or neglect. The reporter is not required to
have witnessed the abuse or neglect or to have firsthand knowledge.

County child welfare agencies often need to speak with a reporter
more than once to clarify or follow up on other issues, so anonymous
calls should be discouraged as much as possible. If a county child
welfare services agency has “Caller Identification,” the staff should
make any caller aware that the agency has this information, especially
if the identifying information the caller is giving is different from the
information on the “Caller Identification.” If the county child welfare
services agency knows the identity of the reporter, that information
should be recorded on the Intake Tool under the information for
Reporter, even if the caller wishes to remain anonymous. The worker
should include that the reporter would like to remain anonymous at
the top of the narrative information box. In that case, the fact that the
caller wants to remain anonymous should be noted as well.
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CPS INTAKE

Collection of Information and Assessing Agency History

Protocol — What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

CREATING A NEW CPS INTAKE

The county child welfare worker must document and manage
information about the report of suspected abuse, neglect, and/or
dependency by creating a new CPS Intake in the Child Welfare
Information System. A new CPS Intake begins with the collection of
reporter information.

RESPONSE TIME

The timeframe for responding to screened in reports of abuse,
neglect, and/or dependency begin at the time the reporter
contacts the county child welfare services agency. County child
welfare agencies must provide Child Protective Services, including
Intake, 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, and, respond
immediately to emergency situations when identified in the Intake
tool.

The county child welfare worker must provide support and
encouragement to the reporter by:
e Explaining the purpose of CPS (to ensure safety of children,
and protect and strengthen the family);
Emphasizing the importance of reporting;
Dealing with the fears and concerns of the reporter; and
Discussing confidentiality regarding the CPS report
including the identity of the reporter.

Making effective CPS Intake decisions requires county child welfare workers to
have competent interviewing skills, awareness of the information needed, the skill
to organize and analyze information, to arrive at accurate conclusions, and the
ability to be supportive of reporters. The reporter’s information regarding the
allegations needs to be listened to and documented on the Intake Tool, and to
ensure that Intake has collected all of the information provided by the reporter.
The Intake worker should access the Desk Guide for additional questions to assist
them in completing a comprehensive Intake assessment.

Every effort should be made to speak with the reporter at the time the call is
placed. In instances when the reporter left a message, the timeframe for response
begins at the time the reporter left the message, not the time the call was
returned. There may be times when the reporter does not have access to a
telephone on a regular basis and cannot leave a number for the call to be
returned. Assessing safety and if an immediate response is required is impossible
when those concerns are left on a messaging system.

In cases where the reporter has concerns about making a report, the worker can
point them to NCGS § 7B-301 that requires any person over the age of 18 that
suspects abuse, neglect, or dependency of a juvenile to make a report to the local
county child welfare agency. This suspicion does not require the reporter to have
witnessed or have firsthand knowledge of the allegations. This statute also assures
immunity from civil and criminal liability as long as the report was made in good
faith. The reporter must be supported in their decision to make a report and
address their concerns. It is important to understand that it can often be very
difficult for the reporter to make the call.

In some instances, a reporter may be considered a “designated reporter” for their
agency, meaning they are calling on behalf of the person who has firsthand
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CPS INTAKE

Collection of Information and Assessing Agency History

Protocol — What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

MANDATORY QUESTIONS

The county child welfare worker must answer a series of
mandatory questions in the Intake tool prior to gathering the
narrative information to assist with determining whether the use of
the Screening and Response Tool is necessary. If the allegations are
not regarding a child and there are no other children in the home,
the worker will bypass the remainder of the tool to screen out. In
cases involving allegations of abuse or severe neglect against an
individual who is not a caretaker, with the exception of Human
Trafficking, the worker will still gather the narrative and participant
information from the reporter and send it to the appropriate
agency.

In cases where the agency does not have statutory authority to
intervene because there is not a child under 18 in the home or the
allegations do not involve a caretaker, except Human Trafficking,
the information will be screened out prior to completion of the
Screening and Response Tool and go straight to the supervisor for
review. The Mandatory Questions include:

1. Isthe victim child under 18 years of age?

2. s the child a victim of fatality?

3. s this a near fatality, where a physician has determined

that a child is in serious or critical condition as a result of

knowledge of the situation. In such situations, it is permissible to contact the
person with firsthand knowledge prior to making a final decision about accepting
the report. The person(s) with firsthand knowledge should be listed in the
collateral section of the Intake tool.

MANDATORY QUESTIONS

It will be important for intake workers to be able to communicate the definitions
for words such as caretaker, Human Trafficking, and Domestic Violence that may
not be familiar to the reporter so that they can answer the question accurately.

The Intake system has built-in decision-making assistance by responding to
questions in an if/then format. If the victim is over 18 the system will provide a
notification about referral of the information to law enforcement or Adult
Protective Services (APS). It will also ask if there are any other children under 18 in
the home and if the answer is no, the system will bypass the Screening and
Response Tool and send to the supervisor for review. If the child is the victim of a
fatality and there are no other children in the home, the system will bypass the
Screening and Response Tool and send to the supervisor for review. CPS does not
have jurisdiction in cases where there are no children under 18 years of age. In
cases that do not involve children 18 years of age, the worker should direct
notification to the appropriate entity such as law enforcement or Adult Protective
Services (APS).

Most questions are in a yes/no format. There are some questions that ask for
additional information. Where did the incident occur requires the worker to fill the
information into the narrative box. If the child is not a resident of North Carolina,
the system will request residency information.
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CPS INTAKE

Collection of Information and Assessing Agency History

Protocol — What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

sickness or injury caused by suspected abuse, neglect, or
maltreatment?

4. s the child a resident of North Carolina?

5. Where did the incident occur? (This question has a
narrative box)

6. |Isthe perpetrator a parent/caretaker?

7. Are you aware of any relatives or kin supports for this
family?

8. Are there concerns for Human Trafficking?

9. Are there concerns for Domestic Violence?

10. Is this a licensed facility or group home?

COLLECT PARTICIPANT INFORMATION
After completing the mandatory questions, the worker will be

Identification of a case head depends on the role of the
participants involved in the new CPS Intake. Only the information
provided by the reporter can be used in the participant section of
the Intake tool. This ensures confidentiality by not providing the
reporter with any additional information that they did not give.
Participant roles are:

e Adult

e Alleged Victim

e Caretaker

e Custodian

e Non-Resident Parent

e Parent

Case heads are determined using the following guideline:
e Mother

directed to identify participants involved in the case and their roles.

COLLECT PARTICIPANT INFORMATION

The identification of the case head as unknown during intake can change during
the assessment should that information become known. When an adult
parent/caretaker remains unknown the assessment case head should follow using
this guideline. The case head should be documented in the system first. Any
additional information obtained during the Assessment should not be updated in
the Intake tool to ensure that the reporter does not get information that they did
not provide to the agency and maintain the family’s confidentiality.

Only living participants should be added to the participant information. Deceased
participants, including parents or caretakers, should be documented in the
Narrative Information box.
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e Father

e Female Caretaker
e Male Caretaker

e Female child

e Male child

If the parent or caretaker is unknown, the case head is identified by
the child in the assessment. If there is more than one child, the
case head is that of the youngest child.

IDENTIFYING RELATIVES AND KIN
Beginning at Intake, the identification of relatives and kin, including This is a statutory requirement, but more importantly the engagement of supports
non-relative/fictive kin, can help to promote the safety of children. early in the process can begin construction of a family’s support network and help
This information should be included in the mandatory question stabilize families in crisis and prevent future safety issues.

section under the question, “Are you aware of any relatives or kin
supports for this family? Asking about relatives and kin includes
those who live outside of the home but can provide support to the
family.

Collection of Information and Assessing Agency History
The county child welfare worker must gather sufficient information
from the reporter to be able to:

While it is important to know the reporter’s concerns about the risk to the
children, it is crucial that the message conveyed is that CPS is about ensuring safe
homes for children by identifying the strengths of the family-not by identifying bad

e Identify and locate case participants (child(ren), parents, or parents and taking children away.

primary caretaker) and;

e Determine if the report meets the statutory guidelines for
child maltreatment;
Assess the seriousness of the child’s situation; and
Understand the relationship of the reporter to the family
and the motives of the reporter.

Another way that may be helpful includes talking with the reporter about what
they hope the family can accomplish. Discussing safety shifts the focus from
problems to possible solutions. Some of these questions include:
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e |dentify collaterals who may have additional information
for the assessment (medical/behavioral health care
providers, teachers, friends, family, or others) and their
relationship to the alleged victim child(ren).

The county child welfare worker must check the Child Welfare
Information System for service history and/or county agency
records to determine if the case participants (family or child) have
been reported/known to the agency previously. Any information
obtained regarding additional participants must be entered into
the Narrative Information box or case notes for the Assessment
worker. The worker must NOT enter any additional participants
that the reporter did not provide.

The county child welfare worker must NOT check the Central
Registry/Responsible Individuals List or contact another community
agency to make a screening decision.

1. Calling DSS is a big step. In your opinion, what would it take to make the
child safer?

2. What do you think the family is capable of doing to make the child safer?

3. Canyou tell me how the agency will know when the problem is solved?

Comprehensive information provided by the reporter supports county child
welfare workers in making the best determination about the appropriateness of
the report for CPS Assessment, the level of risk to the child, and the urgency of the
response needed. Information gathering should focus on the alleged
maltreatment; and information about the child, the parents/caretakers, and the
family. Use of Narrative Information gathering is a helpful tool in ensuring that you
have obtained as much information as you can from the reporter for screening
purposes.

There are some maltreatment reports that do not clearly meet legal definitions of
abuse, neglect, and/or dependency; however, the alleged maltreatment is
concerning. It may be that the reporter did not have enough information to
provide specifics or was not willing to do so. In these situations, it is acceptable to
use Child Welfare Information System history and county agency history to make a
well-informed decision. To maintain the confidentiality of the family, the worker
should add any additional participants found from the search of the Child Welfare
Information System/county agency records to the narrative box rather than the
participant section to ensure that the reporter notification letter does not include
information that was not provided by the reporter. Reviewing a 5027 for previous
210 services may be one way to check the family history.

Questions from a safety-oriented approach may be unexpected, causing the
reporter to need more time to think critically about the situation and the county
child welfare intake worker to be able to explain questions. Some reporters will be
open to engaging in a discussion regarding safety and others will not because they
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feel they have done their job by notifying the county child welfare services agency.
Exception questions, eliciting strengths, and goal-oriented questions cause the
reporter to think about the family’s situation and emphasizes that child safety and
protection is a community issue that calls for collective responsibility. The worker
should use their professional judgement to determine the level of information that
a reporter may have about a family based on the relationship and length of time
the reporter has known the family. This should help guide the questions that may
be used to elicit information.
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Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) requires that all
infants identified as “substance affected” by a healthcare provider,
receive a Plan of Safe Care. When a county child welfare services
agency receives notification of the birth and identification of a

substance affected infant, it must begin the process of ensuring a
Plan of Safe Care is identified and developed for each infant by:

e Completing a Care Management for At Risk Children
(CMARC) referral form and

e Submitting the referral form to the local CMARC program
or designated alternative service.

To comply with confidentiality laws and to ensure that a Plan of Safe
Care can be created for every infant, it is important that the CMARC
referral be made during the screening of the report and prior to
deciding to screen in or screen out the report during the 2™ level
review.

Once the referral has been made, the county child welfare services
agency must follow the guidance contained in the Child Welfare
Resources for Substance Affected Infants and Plan of Safe Care as
well as consult the Substance Affected Infant Maltreatment
Definition to determine if a CPS Assessment is warranted.

Also, refer to “Substance Affected Infants” in Assessments in the NC
Child Welfare manual for more information.

The timing of the referral is critical because confidentiality laws prohibit a
county child welfare services agency from making the referral to CMARC if the
report has already been screened out and child protective services are no
longer being provided.

Healthcare providers have to make notification of all identified substance
affected infants. It is the responsibility of the child welfare worker to gather
information regarding the impact of this identification on the infant to
determine whether the notification meets the threshold for child welfare
involvement and screened in for a child welfare assessment.

Current standard practice dictates that any information the county child
welfare services agency obtains that is protected by federal regulations should
not be disclosed absent a court order or proper client consent. See OBTAINING
SUBSTANCE ABUSE RECORDS BY COURT ORDER in the Juvenile “Court and Child
Welfare” section of Cross Function Topics in the NC Child Welfare manual for
more information on 42 C.F.R. Part 2 regulations.
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The Human Trafficking screening criteria in Step 1 of Maltreatment Allegations
must be selected when:
e A reporter indicates or suspects trafficking
e The CPS Intake worker suspects trafficking based on the maltreatment
allegations

The narrative information must include the child’s parent, guardian, custodian,
or caretaker information:

e Protective capacity;

o Willingness to take protective action; and

e Rolein the trafficking.

Human Trafficking is a child who is sold, traded, or exchanged for anything, or
to settle a debt, regardless of whether the child is used for labor or sex.

For additional information about human trafficking, see Cross Function Topic:
Human Trafficking.

Perpetrators of trafficking may be family members or may pose as
the child or youth’s parent, sibling, aunt, uncle, or significant other
and their relationship to the child may be unclear — even to the
reporter.

Often persons who exploit children and youth through sex or labor
trafficking make promises to children or to families that the child
will have improved circumstances, access to education, or a job if
the child moves from one place to another. Sometimes this involves
moving from another country.

If a child has moved from another country to the United States
without a family member or is traveling with an adult to whom they
are not related or with whom the relationship is unclear, it is
possible that the child is being trafficked or is at risk of being
trafficked. Intake workers should gather as much information as the
reporter is able to provide concerning the child and the child’s
circumstances, including:

e  Where they are traveling from;

e  Where they are traveling to;

e Who (if anyone) they are traveling with and their
relationship to this person;

e The reason for coming to the United States, as provided by
the child, the person with whom they are traveling or with
whom they reside; and

e Any other information the reporter can provide regarding
their concern that the child is being trafficked or is at risk of
being trafficked.
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CPS INTAKE
Human Trafficking

Protocol — What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

Children who have run away from home, or whose parent or
caretaker is absent, may be trafficked or at risk of being trafficked.
The CPS Intake worker should engage the reporter to obtain
information about:
e Child’s circumstances and access to basic needs;
e Whois providing for these needs — food, clothing, shelter,
etc.;
e Whether the child is exchanging sex acts to meet these
needs; and
e Names, aliases, physical description, and relationship to the
child of anyone accompanying the child or youth who is
suspected to be dependent or who has run away.

When appropriate, the county child welfare worker may provide
the reporter with information and resources for human trafficking
victims before a screening decision is made. Appropriate
information and resources shared with the reporter may include
but are not limited to:
e National Human Trafficking Hotline Number (1-888-373-
7888);
e Contact information for local agencies serving survivors of
human trafficking; and
e Contact information for statewide agencies serving
survivors of human trafficking.

RESPONDING TO MISSING AND ABDUCTED CHILDREN

The Trafficking Victims Prevention and Protection Reauthorization Act of 2022
(Public Law 117-348) requires agencies to report immediately (no later than 24
hours) to law enforcement any missing or abducted children for entry into the

Abduction of Children — Per N.C.G.S. § 14-41 any person who,
without legal justification or defense, abducts or induces any minor
child who is at least four years younger than the person, to leave
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National Crime Information Center (NCIC) database, and to the National Center
for Missing and Exploited Children.

It also reauthorizes and amends the Trafficking Victims Protection Act (TVPA) to
include additional communication and details when title IV-E agencies report
missing or abducted children to law enforcement and the National Center for
Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC).

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

When a report involves a missing or an abducted child, the county child welfare
agency must notify law enforcement and the National Center for Missing and
Exploited Children immediately regardless of the screening decision.

Additional Information that must be shared with law enforcement when known
through case search and/or provided by the reporter includes:

e A photo of the missing or abducted child or youth; and

e County child welfare worker’s contact information or other preferred
point of contact (e.g., the worker’s supervisor).

e The child or youth’s full name, aliases and nicknames, age and date of
birth, social security number, driver’s license number (if applicable),
and other biographical information;

e A description of the child or youth (i.e., height, weight, hair color, eye
color, skin color, braces, clothes worn, book bag, shoes, contact lenses
or glasses, dentures, gold or silver teeth, any impairments [physical,
hearing, speech, vision], moles, and scars, body piercings, tattoos)

e Physical or psychological conditions, developmental delays, or any
condition that may affect the ability of the child or youth to respond to
environmental dangers;

any person, agency, or institution lawfully entitled to the child’s
custody, placement, or care.

High Risk Child — The missing child’s safety is severely compromised
for one or more of the following reasons:

e The child is believed to be or has been abducted;

e The child is known or believed to be a victim of human
trafficking (sex trafficking, labor trafficking, child trafficking,
or both)

e The child is believed to be in the company of adults who
could endanger their safety;

e The child is younger than 13 years of age and/or is believed
to be out of the zone of safety for their age or
developmental stage;

e The child has one or more health conditions that, if not
treated daily, will place the child at severe risk;

e The child is drug dependent, including prescribed
medication and/or illegal substances, and the dependency
is life-threatening;

e The child has severe emotional problems that, if not
treated, will place the child at severe risk;

e The child has a developmental disability that impairs the
child’s ability to care for him/herself;

e The child is pregnant and/or parenting and the infant/child
is believed to be with their parent(s);

e The child is missing more than 24 hours before being
reported to law enforcement;

e The child is believed to be in a life-threatening situation;

e The child’s absence is inconsistent with their established
patterns of behavior and the deviation is not readily
explained; and/or
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e Other factors of endangerment, such as young age, hazardous location,
medical needs, disability, etc.;

e Maedication and/or history of suspected substance use/abuse;

e The child or youth’s custody status (birth certificate, custody order;

e Type of missing episode (if known), including runaway, family
abduction, non-family abduction, or other;

e When, where, and with whom the child or youth was last seen;

e Possible method of travel (e.g., car, bicycle, public transportation, on
foot);

e Names and addresses of friends, relatives, present and former
placement providers, including childcare facilities/staff, and
acquaintances;

e Locations the child or youth is known to frequent;

e Suspected destinations and accomplices; and

e Prior disappearances and outcomes.

If a child or youth is identified as “high risk,” this must be communicated to law
enforcement.

REQUIREMENTS FOR SUPERVISORS
Upon notification that a child is missing or abducted, the supervisor must:
e Within 24 hours, confirm the county child welfare worker has made
notification to law enforcement.

The Intake worker must include documentation in the Intake report for any
contact information for law enforcement contacted.

e Other circumstances involved in the disappearance that
would cause a reasonable person to conclude that the child
should be considered “at imminent risk.”

Kidnapping — Per N.C.G.S. § 14-39 any person who shall unlawfully
confine, restrain, or remove from one place to another, any other
person 16 years of age or over without the consent of such person,
or any other person under the age of 16 years without the consent
of a parent or legal custodian of such person.

Missing Child — Per N.C.G.S. § 143B-1011, a juvenile as defined in
N.C.G.S § 7B-101 whose location has not been determined, who
has been reported as missing to a law enforcement agency, and
whose parent’s, spouse’s, guardian’s, or legal custodian’s
temporary or permanent residence is in North Carolina or is
believed to be in North Carolina.

Missing Foster Child — A child who has either left voluntarily (ran
away) or involuntarily (abduction, kidnapped, or lost), and cannot
be accounted for by the agency responsible for their care and
placement.

Runaway — A child who has voluntarily left their placement provider
or home and whose whereabouts are either unknown by the child’s
parent, guardian, custodian, caretaker, foster parent, or county
child welfare worker or whose whereabouts are unknown by the
child’s parent, guardian, custodian, caretaker, foster parent, or
county child welfare worker but who maintains periodic contact
with the county child welfare worker or others.

Regular Communication with National Center for Missing and
Exploited Children (NCMEC) and Local Law Enforcement

Agencies
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Federal policy states county agencies shall maintain regular
communication with NCMEC and law enforcement agencies in
efforts to provide a safe recovery of a missing or abducted child
or youth. Intake workers can access NCMEC regarding contact
information and the steps for reporting missing children at
https://www.missingkids.org/gethelpnow/isyourchildmissing.
The assessment worker should be given contact information for
all entities (including NCMEC and the local law enforcement)
contacted during the Intake for follow up.

Factors that should be assessed to determine whether a child is
considered at high risk of running away include, but are not limited
to:
e History of running away;
e Demonstrating a desire to run (or stating a desire to run);
e Demonstrating independence, including an ability to
survive on the streets;
e Demonstrating limited social skills and/or peer
relationships;
e Asibling with a strong bond and they are not placed
together;
e Have a history of engaging in risky behavior;
e Have a history of out-of-home placements;
e Fall between the ages of 13 and 18 years old;
e Excessive school absences;
e Have significant emotional issues;
e Abuse alcohol or other substances;
e Have an unstable family/home environment;
e Have history of juvenile referrals and/or arrests; and

e Reported abuse or other victimization.
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Factors that should be assessed to determine the child’s risk of
being abducted by a parent or family member include, but are not
limited to:
e Family members have threatened abduction (or there has
been a prior incidence of abduction);
e Limited ties to the area or have family/social support in
another community;
e History of mental illness;
e Feel alienated from the legal system;
e History of child abuse/neglect;
e History of alcohol/substance abuse;
e History of unlawful behavior and/or arrests;
e Do not accept relevant court orders;
e Exhibit a desire to retaliate;
e History of short-term employment or unemployment; and
e Stability of relationship with the other parent.

The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC)
will fax the county child welfare worker a questionnaire which

includes an Information Release and Verification Form requiring the
guardian or caseworker’s signature. This form is to be completed
and faxed back to NCMEC. If the case is screened in, then the form
should be sent to the assessment worker to complete. If the case is
screened out, then the form should be sent back to NCMEC
informing them that the agency is unable to complete the form and
of any caretaker information available. Providing information to
NCMEC, including the child’s photograph, DOES NOT violate North
Carolina confidentiality laws and rules.
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It is important to inform law enforcement about any circumstances
that could severely compromise the safety of a child or youth who
is missing. These circumstances include anything that would fall in
the definition of a high risk child listed above.
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JUVENILE AND CARETAKER DETERMINATION

Determine Juvenile Involvement

Any reports of maltreatment that do not involve a juvenile will be automatically
screened out and sent to a supervisor for a 2™ level review. See definitions.
However, all children living in the home of the victim child identified in the report
must be considered alleged victim children.

Does the Report Meet Abuse, Neglect, &/or Dependency Definitions?

County child welfare agencies only have the authority to intervene when the
allegations if true meet the statutory definitions of abuse, neglect, and/or
dependency. See definitions.

Is the Alleged Perpetrator a Parent, Guardian, Custodian or Caretaker?

Reports that do not involve the maltreatment of a child by a parent, guardian,
custodian or caretaker will be automatically screened out and sent to a supervisor
for 2" level review, except for those alleging human trafficking.

Caretaker
County child welfare agencies must screen Child Protective Services reports to
determine whether the alleged perpetrator meets the statutory requirements for a

Tool and definitions.

Determination of Caretaker

Extended step-relatives such as step-grandparents, step-aunts, step-uncles, and
step-cousins entrusted with responsibility for the health and welfare of the child
must be considered caretakers. An adult entrusted with the health and welfare of a
juvenile is a person who has a significant degree of parental-type responsibility for

caretaker at the time the maltreatment occurred. See Caretaker Definition Decision

Caretaker has a legal definition that is separate from that of a
parent, guardian or custodian; therefore, the Caretaker
Definition Decision Tool in human trafficking cases does not
apply. Please see the “Human Trafficking” section of the Cross
Function Manual in the NC Child Welfare manual.

A temporary arrangement for supervision is not the equivalent
of entrusting a person with the care of the juvenile. To entrust
means the individual is responsible for the health and welfare
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the child. The totality of the circumstances must be considered in these instances
including:

o The duration and frequency of care provided by the adult;

e The location in which that care is provided; and

e The decision-making authority granted to the adult.

County child welfare agencies must assess whether the parent made an appropriate
decision regarding the child’s safety and welfare when he or she placed the child
with the relative/caretaker, regardless of whether the alleged perpetrator meets
the caretaker definition.

When a report of maltreatment involves a person, the reporter is unable to identify
as the caretaker the agency must mark “yes” in the system. The report must be
accepted for assessment if it cannot be determined whether the alleged
perpetrator meets the statutory definitions of a caretaker.

When allegations involve an adult who does not meet the caretaker definition, but
provides care for the child, the parent, custodian, or guardian’s decision to allow
the adult to provide care and their response to the abuse or neglect must be
screened for maltreatment.

While every “employee or volunteer” of a juvenile justice secure detention facility is
no longer subject to a CPS Assessment, the caretaker definition still applies to
employees who have “responsibility for the health and welfare of a juvenile” at
such a facility. See Out-of-Home Care Providers.

Reports alleging maltreatment in boarding schools also are subject to a CPS
Assessment based on the caretaker definition.

Non-Caretaker Reports
When a report of maltreatment is not accepted for CPS Assessment but includes

of a juvenile with a significant degree of parental type
responsibility for the juvenile.

The North Carolina Supreme Court case law re: R.N.N. provides
additional information regarding the determination of a
caretaker. The duration and frequency of care provided,
location in which that care is provided, and the decision-making
authority granted to the adult has to be considered in its
totality to determine whether an individual meets the
definition of a caretaker. It is important to consider whether
the parent, guardian, or custodian has relinquished their
responsibility for the child’s health and welfare to the
caretaker.

In cases where a child spends a significant amount of time with
an adult, even one who is related, but does not live in their
home cannot necessarily be considered a caretaker if the
parent, guardian, or custodian maintains their decision-making
authority over the child’s health and welfare. In the above
situations, the intake worker should gather the information
related to maltreatment of the child in conjunction with the
caretaker’s awareness and response to the behavior to
determine a screening decision. The statute includes “allows to
be created.”

Statute is specific to include certain relationships such as
stepparents. These relationships should be liberally construed,
and inclusive of persons connected by blood, as well as by
marriage.

In cases that the reporter is unable to identify if the person
maltreating is a caretaker, the agency should accept the report
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CPS INTAKE

Establishing the Authority to Intervene

Protocol — What you must do Guidance — How you should do it
information that a child may have been physically (including sexually) harmed in and allow the assessment worker to determine the relationship
violation of any criminal statute by a non-caretaker, the agency must: with the child. If the person maltreating the child is not a
e Give immediate verbal notifications to the District Attorney or designee; caretaker, then the caretaker would need to be assessed for
e Send subsequent written notification to the District Attorney within 48 safety because the non-caretaker was “allowed” to maltreat
hours; the child.

e Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law
enforcement agency; and

e Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law
enforcement agency within 48 hours.

REPORTS INVOLVING A CHILD FATALITY WITH SUSPICION THAT MALTREATMENT
CONTRIBUTED TO THE DEATH If a child lives in a home where another child has died because

of maltreatment, that child may also have been abused or
neglected. It is critical that information regarding risk and

At the time of the fatality:

e All children residing in the home must be identified on the Intake Tool as safety be carefully gathered and evaluated to determine if the
victim children child has been harmed or if there is evidence or suspicion that
e If no other children reside in the home, the county child welfare services the other children are being maltreated.

agency has no authority to intervene in the case but must make a report to
law enforcement. The system will notify the worker that a report must be
made to law enforcement and the District Attorney.

e When the cause of death is suspected maltreatment, a report of the death
must be made to NC DSS for a Child Fatality review.

See the “Child Fatality Prevention and Review” section of the NC Child Welfare
manual.
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CPS INTAKE

Establishing the Authority to Intervene

CARETAKER DEFINITION DECISION TOOL

Is the person
the parent (birth or adoptive), legal
guardian or legal custodi

NO

an adult member of the
household where the child resides? This
includes: stepparents, foster parents, potential
adoptive parents, and any
other adult living in
the home.

NO

Is the person an
adult (inclusive of
persons connected by blood as well as by
marriage) entrusted** with
e juvenile’s care?

NO

Is the person in the
role of a house parent or
cottage parent who has primary
responsibility for supervising a juvenile's health and
welfare in a residential child care facility or residential
educational facility, or any employee or volunteer of a

the Department of Health and
Human Services?

This person is legally responsible for the health and
welfare (care) of the juvenile.

YES—p

This person is defined by statute as a caretaker.

For reports regarding a foster parent and an open
Permanency Planning case, refer to: Reports
Regarding an Open Permanency Planning Case in
Intake Policy.

This person is
defined by statute

as a caretaker. considered:

** responsible for the health and welfare of a juvenile or
having a significant degree of parental-type
responsibility for the juveniile. Circumstances to be

e The duration and frequency of care provided,
® The location in which that care is provided, and
e The decision-making authority granted to the adult.

YES»

This person is defined by statute as a caretaker.

While not every employee or volunteer of a Juvenile Justice secure
detention facility is subject to a CPS Assessment, the caretaker
definition still applies to employees who have responsibility for the
health and welfare of a juvenile at such a facility.

Refer to: Reports Involving Residential Setting in Intake Policy.

NO
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CPS INTAKE
Reports Involving Child Caring Agencies

Protocol — What you must do Guidance — How you should do it

DUTY TO REPORT ALLEGATIONS OF MALTREATMENT IN CHILD CARE

When a county child welfare services agency receives a report of suspected child
maltreatment by a caregiver in a childcare facility, narrative information must be
collected in Child Welfare Information System, and the report will be automatically
screened out and sent to a supervisor for a 2" level review.

The Division of Child Development and Early Education (DCDEE) must be notified
within 24 hours or on the next working day and fax the DSS-5282 with the
narrative information from the Child Welfare Information System.
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CPS INTAKE

Out-of-Home Care Provider CPS Reports

Protocol — What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

RESIDENCE OR ALLEGED MALTREATMENT IS OUT-OF-STATE

When the report indicates that the case participants (child, parents/caretakers)
residence is in North Carolina, but the location of the alleged maltreatment occurred
out-of-state, the worker should indicate where the incident occurred in the
Mandatory Questions, and the county of residence must conduct the CPS
Assessment.
If maltreatment is alleged to have occurred to a North Carolina child while out-of-
state by an individual who is not a resident of North Carolina, the county child
welfare services agency that received the report must refer it to the state where the
alleged maltreatment occurred. If there are concerns regarding the decision making
of the parents or caretakers with whom the child resides in North Carolina, then the
child welfare agency must accept the report and conduct the CPS Assessment.
Timeframes for responding to reports of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency begin at
the time the reporter contacts the county child welfare services agency regardless of
any jurisdictional barriers. Refer to the “Diligent Efforts” section of Cross Function
Topics in the NC Child Welfare manual.
If a report alleges that a North Carolina child was subject to maltreatment in North
Carolina by a parent or caretaker who is not a North Carolina resident, the North
Carolina county child welfare services agency of residence must conduct the CPS
Assessment with the other state’s assistance.
When the report indicates that the residence of both the child and the parents or
caretakers is out-of-state and the location of the alleged maltreatment occurred in
North Carolina with a different parent or caretaker than with whom the child resides,
but the child is no longer in North Carolina, the North Carolina child welfare agency
shall conduct the CPS Assessment with the assistance of the state where the child
resides. However,

o When the report indicates that the residence of the child and the parents or

caretakers is out-of-state and the location of the alleged maltreatment

occurred in North Carolina yet the child and parents or caretakers are no

If the state where the child resides does not provide
assistance (resulting in the child being unable to be
interviewed), and the North Carolina child welfare
agency makes diligent efforts to conduct the
assessment without success, then the case may be
closed as unable to locate.

If a report is received on a child that resides in another
state but ‘found’ in the county and the Intake decision
was to not accept the report for CPS Assessment, the
other state should be notified of the report and the
county’s screening decision. This gives the resident
state information for when the child returns and
allows for screening based on their statue.

In some circumstances, the other state when
contacted may not accept the county's report because
the maltreatment occurred in North Carolina, even
though the child is a resident of their state and is in
that state now.
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CPS INTAKE
Out-of-Home Care Provider CPS Reports

Protocol — What you must do Guidance — How you should do it
longer in North Carolina and there are no plans for them to return to the
state, the child welfare agency should refer that report to the state where
the child and parents or caretakers reside.

o When the report indicates that the residence of both the child and the
parents or caretakers is out-of-state and the location of the alleged
maltreatment occurred out-of-state, the agency should refer that report to
the state where the alleged maltreatment occurred.

e If at any time, the county child welfare services agency where the child is found
believes the child is in immediate danger, a petition must be filed, and a non-secure
custody order obtained.

See Qut-of-State Decision Making Tool.

REQUESTS/REPORTS FROM OUT OF STATE

A new CPS Intake in the Child Welfare Information System_must be completed when another
state requests that NC continue to provide protective services to children and their families Referrals to the ICPC office assures compliance with
who are now living in NC. NC must determine if: the ICPC regulations and the continuation of
appropriate services to the family. See Permanency

e NC has statutory authority to intervene (allegations must meet NC definitions)
Planning in the NC Child Welfare manual.

e The child is in NCin violation of the Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children
(ICPC)
o If court action took place prior to the child(ren) being in NC, a referral to the
ICPC office must be made.
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CPS INTAKE

Out-of-Home Care Provider CPS Reports

Out of State Decision Making Tree

Child Residency /
Location

Child is a
resident of
NC?

NO

Child “found”
in NC?

NO*

Refer report to the
state where the
child resides.
No further action.

Alleged Perpetrator
Residency

Perpetrator
aresident
of NC?

YES YES

YES
NO

Location of Alleged
Maltreatment

Alleged Maltreatment
Occurred In or
Out of State

Alleged
Maltreatment
Occurred in
NC?

This decision tree is not all inclusive. There may NO

be situations where a county child welfare

agency answers no (at asterik*) and based on

the information obtained:

e Screens in and assigns a CPS assessment in

North Carolina and
e Requests assistance from that state.

Within the Intake report, provide documentation

with jurisdiction for decisions.
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County Responsible
for CPS Assessment

NC Child Welfare agency of
residence must conduct the
CPS Assessment.

NC Child Welfare agency of
residence must conduct the
CPS Assessment with the
other state’s assistance.

YES

Refer report to the state where the
alleged maltreatment occurred.
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CPS INTAKE

Out-of-Home Care Provider CPS Reports

Protocol — What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

REPORTS INVOLVING OPEN CHILD PLACEMENT CASES

Any new maltreatment and/or incident that meets the legal definitions of abuse, neglect,
and/ or dependency received at any time during the child receiving Child Placement
Services, must be documented and managed as a new report and the agency must
conduct a prompt and thorough assessment of the maltreatment allegations.

Additional requirements are contained in “Conflict of Interest” in Cross Function Topics in
the NC Child Welfare manual.

REPORTS INVOLVING OUT-OF-HOME CARE PROVIDERS

Reports that allege a child is being maltreated by an out-of-home care provider, and the
out-of-home provider meets the definition of caretaker per G.S. §7B-101, the county child
welfare services agency must complete a CPS Assessment using the Investigative
Assessment Track.

In cases where the report alleges that the child has been maltreated by a licensed foster
parent/group home, a notification must be made to NC DSS within 5 days to ensure
Licensing and Regulatory are aware. NC DSS licenses all foster parents, therapeutic foster
parent, and level 1 group homes. This notification must be made for ALL homes with a
foster care license regardless of whether there is currently a foster child in the home. This
also includes notification when the victim child is the biological or adopted child of the
licensed foster parent and there is a foster child in the home.

A notification must be made to the Division of Health Service Regulation for all mental
health group homes (i.e., Level 2, 3, 4 and Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility
(PRTF)) within 5 days.

Additional requirements are contained in “Conflict of Interest” in Cross Function Topics in
the NC Child Welfare manual.

REPORTS INVOLVING OPEN CHILD PLACEMENT CASES

Children in Out of Home placement may share
additional information about abuse and neglect after
being removed from their home. If the information
meets the statutory definition, it must be investigated.

In situations where the biological parents have had
their parental rights terminated and the child discloses
allegations regarding maltreatment committed by
their biological parents, the report must be screened
out. NCGS § 7B-1112. states, “An order terminating
the parental rights completely and permanently
terminates all rights and obligations of the parent to
the juvenile and of the juvenile to the parent arising
from the parental relationship, except that the
juvenile's right of inheritance from the juvenile's
parent shall not terminate until a final order of
adoption is issued.” A notification must be sent to Law
Enforcement and the District Attorney’s office.

If the allegations provided meet the statutory
threshold and the reporter is aware of other children
in the home of the biological parent that could be at
risk, it should be screened in.

Licensing and Regulatory maintains information
regarding licensed foster homes/group homes and
should be included in the process to ensure that if
there are concerns for abuse, neglect, and/or
dependency that actions can be taken to ensure that
no additional children are harmed.
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CPS INTAKE

Out-of-Home Care Provider CPS Reports

Protocol — What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

REPORTS INVOLVING INSTITUTIONAL PLACEMENTS

When a report alleges that a child is maltreated in an institutional placement and the
person alleged to have maltreated the child is entrusted with the child’s health and
welfare, the report must be accepted for CPS Assessment. This includes a correctional
officer or any employee with the Division of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
that has responsibility for the health and welfare of a juvenile.

Screened in reports on institutional placements must be assigned as an Investigative
Assessment Response and referred to law enforcement when required. Only children
identified as victims must be the subject of the Investigative Assessment. However, other
children in the institutional setting must be considered as victims if an assessment of the
circumstances warrants the inclusion of those children in the Investigative Assessment.

Additional requirements are contained in “Jurisdiction” in Cross Function Topics in the
NC Child Welfare manual.

REPORTS INVOLVING CHILDREN LIVING IN AN INSTITUTIONAL SETTING WHERE A CHILD
HAS DIED DUE TO SUSPECTED MALTREATMENT

When a report of a juvenile's death, because of suspected maltreatment in an
institutional setting, such as a residential child care facility or residential educational
facility is received:

e The county child welfare services agency must immediately determine if other
juveniles remaining in the facility are subject to the alleged perpetrator's care or
supervision; and

e If so, assess the circumstances of those juveniles to determine whether they
require protective services or whether immediate removal of those juveniles from
the facility is necessary for their protection (N.C.G.S. §7B-302(b)).

If a report is received and the person alleged to have
abused or neglected the juvenile is an employee that
is not entrusted with the child’s care such as the cook,
the janitor, the groundskeeper, etc., the report would
not be accepted for CPS Assessment but reported to
law enforcement.
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CPS INTAKE

Multiple Reports Involving the Same Child or Family

Protocol - What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

MULTIPLE REPORTS INVOLVING THE SAME CHILD OR FAMILY

incident is currently being assessed through an open CPS Assessment:

e The information must be on the Intake Tool in the Child Welfare

assessment.

e The report may not require a new initiation; therefore, a
determination of the response timeframe is unnecessary.

by the county child welfare worker as a part of the initiation in an open

child. There must be one assessment that addresses the initial and new
information with one case decision.

If a CPS report is received that describes maltreatment allegations and the

Information System, screened-in, and merged with the current open

A new CPS Intake must be created when new maltreatment allegations that
meet the legal definition of abuse, neglect, and or dependency are received
from the public while there is an open CPS Assessment (i.e., not uncovered

Assessment). The new information is considered a new report and must be
responded to within the determined time frames to assess the safety of the

There are times when a county child welfare services agency may
receive a report describing maltreatment and incidents that were
previously assessed during a CPS Assessment that has closed. The
agency should consider all new information in making its screening
decision. If there is information that has not been assessed and meets
the statutory definition, the report should be screened in.

“Received from the public” refers to an individual’s intent to contact
the county child welfare services agency for the purposes of making a
CPS report. Information that a county child welfare worker obtains
from a collateral contact during an open CPS Assessment related to
the allegations presented in the report do not constitute a new report
or obligate the county child welfare to send reporter notification
letters to that individual. Information that a county child welfare
worker obtains from a collateral contact during an open CPS
Assessment regarding a new incident or information outside of the
allegations presented in the report that meet the statutory definition
of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency must be screened using the
Intake tool and responded to based on the determined timeframe.
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CPS INTAKE
Open In-Home Services Cases CPS Reports

Protocol — What you must do Guidance — How you should do it

REPORTS INVOLVING OPEN CPS IN-HOME SERVICES CASES

Any new maltreatment and/or incident that meets the legal definitions of abuse, This includes information from collaterals involved with the
neglect, and/or dependency received at any time during a CPS In-Home Services case | family who provide the information to the current worker
must result in the creation of a new CPS Intake and a prompt and thorough providing In-Home services. A collateral should not be
assessment of the allegations. expected to know the difference between making a report to

the worker involved with the family and a formal call to the

The county with the open CPS In-Home Services case must be the county responsible Intake line for the agency.

for conducting the assessment of any new screened in reports, unless there has been
a change in residence.

Refer to “New Assessment on Open In-Home Case” in In-Home in the NC Child
Welfare manual.
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CPS INTAKE

Reports Creating a Conflict of Interest for the Agency

Protocol — What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

The family’s (child’s) county of residence is responsible for conducting the
CPS Assessment, except in cases where there is a conflict-of-interest
present. When there is a conflict of interest, another county child welfare
services agency must conduct the assessment.

The narrative information must be collected by the county child welfare
agency that receives the report and then the report must be sent in the Child
Welfare Information System to the county child welfare services agency
conducting the CPS Assessment for screening in the Screening and Response
Tool. Verbal confirmation must be obtained by the county child welfare
agency sending the report for screening.

Transition into the Child Welfare Information System: When a county that is
in the Child Welfare Information System receives a report that is a Conflict of
Interest (COl) the county child welfare agency must take the information
from the reporter and put it in the Child Welfare Information System. If the
county receiving the COIl report is in the Child Welfare Information System,
then the information gathered must be sent in the system for screening and
response by the receiving county.

If the county receiving the COl s not in the Child Welfare Information
System, then information gathered from the reporter must be printed out
and immediate notification made to the county receiving the report. The
sending county must ensure that it is received and then the receiving county
must screen the report and if accepted determine the assessment track and
response time based on the CPS Intake policy.

When a county that has not transitioned into the Child Welfare Information
System receives a report that is a COl the county child welfare must take the
information on the current DSS-1402, make immediate notification to the
other county regardless of whether they are in the Child Welfare
Information System or not. The information gathered from the reporter will

As all 100 counties transition into Child Welfare Information System
there will be counties that are in the Child Welfare Information system
and counties that have not transitioned yet. This means that counties
will be operating under two different screening and response
processes. For counties that have not transitioned into the system
they will continue use the DSS-1402 and CPS Intake Policy to make
screening and response decisions. Counties that have entered in the
Child Welfare Information System will use the Structured Decision-
Making (SDM) Tool that is a part of the system for screening and
response and the SDM Intake Policy.

When additional information is needed to complete the screening
process, the reporter can be contacted by the receiving county when
available. In cases where the reporter is unavailable the intake worker
will make a screening and response decision based on the information
that they received.
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CPS INTAKE

Reports Creating a Conflict of Interest for the Agency

be sent to the county receiving the COI for a screening decision and, if
warranted, an assessment track and response time determination. The
county sending the information must ensure that it is received.

If the county is in the Child Welfare Information System the information
must be entered into the system and use the SDM Screening and Response
Tool.

The county completing the conflict of interest must make a screening
decision and, if accepted, determine the assessment track and response
time UNLESS the information provided in the report is urgent and requires
an immediate response by the agency receiving the report. Verbal
notification must also be made informing the county of the child’s location
and that initiation has begun by the county receiving the report.

See “Conflict of Interest” in the Cross Function manual in the NC Child
Welfare manual for further information regarding a county child welfare
services agency’s responsibility when there is a conflict of interest.

CPS Intake Policy, Protocol, and Guidance (September 2023)
NC CHILD WELFARE MANUAL

Return to Intake TOC

Return to Manual TOC

Page 39


https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/
https://policies.ncdhhs.gov/divisional/social-services/child-welfare/policy-manuals/

CPS INTAKE
Intake Decision Making

Protocol — What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

SCREENING AND RESPONSE TOOL
Use of the Screening and Response tool:
® Must occur for every CPS report:
o Regarding a child under the age of 18, and
o Alleging abuse, neglect, and/or dependency by a parent or caretaker, and/or
human trafficking
Provides for consistent screening across the state; and
Determines whether the allegations meet the legal definitions of abuse, neglect and
dependency.
e Determines a Response Time for allegations that meet the statutory threshold for
abuse, neglect, and/or dependency.

County child welfare intake workers must have a current knowledge of statutory guidelines
to identify and categorize child abuse, neglect and dependency allegations and elicit the
reporter’s concern. Intake workers shall consider the child’s age, developmental status,
other child vulnerabilities, and expected child and family life events when assessing referrals.
The county child welfare services agency has the authority to intervene only when the
allegation, if true, would meet the legal definitions. The appropriate maltreatment must be
selected based on the maltreatment screening tools.

In Step 1 there are 4 maltreatment allegation screening criteria, Abuse, Abandonment,
Neglect and Dependency. The Intake worker must select each maltreatment allegation
subtype that corresponds to the reporter’s concern and the documented referral narrative.
The Abuse criteria includes Death of a child when maltreatment is suspected, Human
Trafficking, Physical Abuse, Sexual Abuse, Emotional Abuse/Mental Injury, Moral Turpitude.
The Abandonment criteria covers a child of any age who has been abandoned. The Neglect
criteria includes Physical Neglect, Medical Neglect, Educational Neglect, lllegal Transfer of
Custody, and Parent Request to Dismiss Safe Surrender. The Dependency criteria covers
Caretakers' Incapacity and Safe Surrender Infants.
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CPS INTAKE
Intake Decision Making

Protocol — What you must do

Guidance — How you should do it

DETERMINATION OF COUNTY OR STATE ASSIGNMENT

The intake decision determines if there is a valid Child Protective Services (CPS)
report, how quickly the agency needs to respond, and which county child welfare
services agency is responsible for conducting the CPS Assessment.

COUNTY ASSIGNMENT
The county child welfare worker and supervisor managing the CPS Intake must:

® Screen the report;

e Determine if the maltreatment alleged in the report is sufficient to warrant
intervention based on suspected abuse, neglect, and/or dependency;
Determine how quickly the agency needs to respond;

Determine which county child welfare services agency is responsible for
conducting the CPS Assessment; and

Send the reporter notification letter.

Send all other required notifications (i.e. Law Enforcement, DA, DCDEE, DHSR,
Military, RAMS)

When a reporter contacts a county where the child does not reside, the county
receiving the report must still take all the information from the reporter and make
verbal notification to the county where the child resides. The county where the child
resides must make a screening decision and, if accepted, determine the assessment
track and response time UNLESS the information provided in the report is urgent and
requires an immediate response by the agency receiving the report. Verbal
notification must also be made informing the county of the child’s location and that
initiation has begun by the county receiving the report.

Additional requirements are contained in the “Conflict of Interest” section in the
Cross Function manual of the NC Child Welfare manual.

The worker should gather the demographic and narrative
information, current location of the child as well as any other
information needed to make an accurate screening decision.
When the worker determines there is a conflict of interest or
that the child does not reside in their county, the worker
must send the information in the system to the county that is
responsible for assessing the report to complete the
Screening and Response Tool in the system. The county with
the conflict of interest must make verbal notification and
receive confirmation from the receiving county so that a
timely assessment can be initiated. The worker should not
expect the caller to find the correct number to call or make
the call to another DSS agency. The caller should be advised
that their name and information will be referred to another
agency and that, if necessary, this agency may call the
reporter seeking more information. The caller should also be
advised that this agency will also send them a five-day
notification letter.

The process of referring the report shall be immediate. The
timeframe for initiation begins with the first contact with the
reporter. The responsibility for ensuring that the transfer of
information occurred lies with the county screening the
report.
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DETERMINATION OF RESPONSE PRIORITY AND ASSESSMENT APPROACH

The Response Time and Track is Step 2 of Intake Decision-Making. The use of
the Response Time and Track results in consistent decisions regarding the
response time for assessments.

The Response Time and Track step determines the time frame for the
response for all reports accepted for a CPS Assessment (immediate, within
24 hours, or within 72 hours) and track (Family Assessment or Investigative
Assessment). Workers will be directed to the appropriate response matrix, A
or B, based on allegation type.

Matrix A includes allegations of abuse child fatality, near fatality, human
trafficking, abuse or abandonment (physical, sexual, emotional, moral).

Matrix B includes allegations of neglect and/or dependency allegations only.

If the report includes allegations on both response matrices, the worker will
complete Matrix A (abuse, abandonment, child fatality, near fatality, human
trafficking).

All reports that are screened “in” must be assigned for response according to
the allegation characteristics selected in the Response Time and Track step.
This will be auto-populated based on completion of the tool.

Supervisory Override: An agency may always respond more quickly
than the indicated time if there are circumstances or lack of
information that indicate the child is possibly at greater risk than
indicated by the Response Tool. An agency may not choose a response
time that is longer than the indicated response time.
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DEFINITIONS OF FAMILY ASSESSMENT AND INVESTIGATIVE ASSESSMENT

FAMILY ASSESSMENT RESPONSE
A response that is:
e Family-centered;
® Protection- and prevention-oriented; and
o Evaluates the strengths and needs of the juvenile’s family, as well as the condition of the juvenile.

The Family Assessment response is appropriate for reports that contain allegations meeting the statutory
definitions of neglect and/or dependency and does not meet the following allegation characteristics:

e Child exposed to methamphetamine lab/fentanyl;

e Medical neglect of an infant with life-threatening condition;

e Child is in custody of child welfare, family foster home or residential facility;

e Physician or law enforcement has taken emergency custody;

e A hospitalized child due to suspected neglect;
or OTHER reason described.

INVESTIGATIVE ASSESSMENT RESPONSE
A response to reports of child abuse and selected reports of child neglect and dependency that is a formal
information gathering process to determine whether a juvenile is abused, neglected, or dependent.

The Investigative Assessment response is appropriate when reports include an allegation of child fatality, near

fatality, human trafficking, abuse, or abandonment (physical, sexual, emotional, moral).

If response track for neglect or dependency includes any of the following, the response must be changed to

Investigative Assessment:

Family centered is not the same
thing as family friendly. The primary
role of Child Protective Services is to
ensure the safety of children. Being
family centered requires workers to
focus on solutions that allow
children to remain safely with their
families BUT does not negate the
statutory requirement to remove
children from unsafe situations
when there are no other options at
the expense of getting along with
the family.
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Child exposed to methamphetamine lab/fentanyl;

Medical neglect of an infant with life-threatening condition;
Child is in custody of child welfare, foster care or residential care;
Physician or law enforcement has taken emergency custody;

or OTHER reason described.

ASSIGNMENT OF ASSESSMENT APPROACH

Regardless of the assignment to either CPS Assessment response, when the county child welfare services
agency receives a valid CPS report, the agency must act to ensure the safety of the child through the provision
of protective services.

As the timeframe for responding to reports of abuse, neglect, and/or dependency begins at the time the
reporter contacts the county child welfare services agency, assignment of the report for assessment must
occur as soon as the CPS Intake tool is completed.
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TWO-LEVEL DECISION CONSULTATION

Two-level decisions must occur on every CPS Intake completed. The Two-level decisions for CPS Intake reports should involve the assigned
screening decision(s) must include a discussion between the CPS Intake caseworker and that worker’s supervisor. However, there may be
worker and a supervisor (or other management position) about Step 1 and circumstances that require another county child welfare worker or
Step 2 of the Intake tool. another supervisor or a higher-level manager in the agency to

participate in a review or the decision making.

When a supervisor does not have access to a higher-level manager for

All persons participating in the screening decision must sign or approve the a 2" level review when screéning an Intake report, the supervisor may

Screening and Response Tool where indicated. send to another supervisor for the 2" level review.
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DISTRICT ATTORNEY / LAW ENFORCEMENT NOTIFICATION

REPORTS OF ABUSE

Reports of abuse by a parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker that may meet the criminal
definitions of child abuse must result in a notification to the District Attorney and Law
Enforcement.

G.S §7B-307 directs that when there is evidence that

e the child may have been abused as defined by G.S. § 7B-101 by the parent,
guardian, custodian or caretaker,

The county child welfare agency must:

a) Give immediate verbal notifications to the District Attorney or designee;

b) Send subsequent written notification to the District Attorney within 48 hours

c) Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law enforcement
agency; and

d) Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law enforcement
agency within 48 hours.

e) Notification to the appropriate military authority that there is evidence of abuse
of a juvenile by a parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker with that military
affiliation.

REPORTS OF NEGELCT (Unsafe Discipline)

In instances of parental child neglect/unsafe discipline where the injuries amount to
misdemeanor child abuse according to statute, the county child welfare agency must:
* Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law enforcement
agency; and
* Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law enforcement
agency within 48 hours

The receipt of a report is considered evidence of
abuse and or violation criminal misdemeanor or
felony child abuse.

Notification to the military authority of the alleged
perpetrator only takes place there is evidence of
abuse of a juvenile by a parent, guardian, custodian,
or caretaker with that military affiliation.

Examples of situations in which non-caretaker reports
are to be made to the District Attorney and Law
Enforcement include reports alleging assault on a child
by educational personnel; reports alleging sexual
molestation of a child by a stranger; reports alleging
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NON-CARETAKER REPORTS

G.S. §14-318.6 requires that any person 18 years of age or older who knows or should have
reasonably known that a child has been or is the victim of criminal misdemeanor child abuse
defined under G.S. 14-318.2 or felony child abuse §14-318.4 must notify the local law
enforcement agency.

In instances of physical harm to a child that violates any criminal statute by a Non-
Caretaker, including instances of unsafe discipline that amount to misdemeanor child abuse,
the local child welfare agency must:

e Give immediate verbal notification to the appropriate local law enforcement
agency; and

e Send subsequent written notification to the appropriate local law enforcement
agency within 48 hours

e Give immediate verbal notifications to the District Attorney or designee;

e Send subsequent written notification to the District Attorney within 48 hours

Notification Requirements:
* Juvenile Victim: Name, Age, Address, Current whereabouts

e Parent, Guardian, Custodian, Caretaker: Name, Address

Alleged Offender: Name, Age, Address
*  Other Juveniles present or in danger: Name and Age
¢ Nature, extent or conditions of offense

Definitions in Criminal statutes:

Misdemeanor child abuse (§14-318.2) is defined as any person (caretaker and non-
caretaker) who: inflicts, allows to be inflicted creates a substantial risk of physical injury by

maltreatment of a child by staff of an acute physical
care hospital.

In some cases, local law enforcement may be
investigating the actions of the person who is
reported to be directly responsible for the harm to the
child while the county child welfare services agency
assesses the parent or caretaker's behavior that
contributed to the alleged abuse or neglect. Other
situations are clearly the responsibility of law
enforcement as far as investigation and court action
are concerned.
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non-accidental means. Failure to report crimes against juveniles carries a penalty of Class 1
misdemeanor.

Felony child abuse (§14-318.4)

e Serious bodily injury (G.S. §14-318.4(d)(1) Bodily injury that creates a substantial risk
of death or that causes serious permanent disfigurement, coma, a permanent or
protracted condition that causes extreme pain, or permanent or protracted loss or
impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ, or that results in
prolonged hospitalization.

e Serious physical injury (G.S. §14-318.4(d)(2) Physical injury that causes great pain
and suffering. The term includes serious mental injury.

e Sexually Violent Offense (G.S. §14-208.6(5)) This also includes the following: an
attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit any of these offenses; aiding and
abetting any of these offenses.

e Violent Offense (G.S. 14-318.6(5)) any offense that inflicts upon the juvenile serious
bodily injury or serious physical injury by other than accidental means. This term
also includes the following: an attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit any of
these offenses: aiding and abetting any of these offenses.

REPORTER NOTIFICATION
For all CPS Intake reports, there must be documentation that:

a) Written notice was sent to the person making the report within
5 working days after receipt of the report;
b) The person making the report waived their right to notice; or
c) The person making the report refused to provide identifying information.

The notice to the reporter must include:
a) A statement about whether the report was accepted for CPS Assessment based on
statutory definitions and citing the relevant statutes, and identify the type of CPS
Assessment that includes a brief description

The requirement for written notification does not
negate the county child welfare services agency’s
ability to share the screening decision with the
reporter through other means prior to receipt of the
5-day letter if the inquiry is an effort to provide
protective services to the family. Examples of such
situations include a hospital social worker wanting to
know the screening decision prior to a child’s
discharge, or a police officer who is waiting for a
county child welfare worker to arrive on the scene.
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b) The date the report was made;

c) The identity of the alleged victim child; for instance, if the reporter specifically
identifies the name of a child, use that name; however, if the name is unknown, use
the descriptor given by the reporter;

d) Information regarding the process by which the reporter may obtain a review of the
agency’s decision not to accept the report for CPS Assessment;

e) A statement about whether the report was referred to the appropriate state or local
law enforcement agency;

f) The identity of the county responsible for conducting the CPS Assessment, if
different than the county that received the Intake;

g) Information and resources on human trafficking, if the report is screened out;

h) A statement that encourages the reporter to contact the agency if more information
or concerns regarding the child or family surfaces; and

i) The name and contact information for the assigned county child welfare worker, the
supervisor, or other identified person.

If a reporter describes the exact same allegations and incidents that are currently being
assessed, the county child welfare services agency must still provide the notification, even if
they may not have been the initial reporter.

NOTIFICATIONS INVOLVING OUT-OF-HOME PLACEMENTS
Refer to “Conflict of Interest” in Cross Function Topics in the NC Child Welfare manual for
notifications required for out-of-home placements.

Reference G.S. 7B-309 for specific information about
the immunity of persons reporting and cooperating in
an assessment. This can be found in the policy and
legal basis section of the CPS Intake Manual.

Appropriate information and resources to the
reporter may include, but are not limited to:

e National Human Trafficking Hotline Number
(1-888-373-7888);

e Contact information for local agencies serving
survivors of human trafficking; and,

e Contact information for statewide agencies
serving survivors of human trafficking.
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MALTREATMENT TYPE

Each maltreatment type is listed below and includes when a report must
be accepted. Any subtypes that match the narrative information
provided by the reporter must be checked in the system.

ABUSE

Death/Near Death of a Child

A report received regarding a child fatality AND concerns for abuse or
neglect by a caretaker caused or contributed to the death of a child AND
other children reside in the home must be screened for assessment. It is
important to consider the information the reporter provides even if the
reporter does not raise suspicion. The report must be accepted if the
safety of the children who continue to reside in the home is at risk based
on the information presented.

“Near fatality” is a phrase used in child protective services and is defined
as follows:

e An act that, as certified by a physician, places a child in serious
or critical condition (Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act
(CAPTA), Chapter 67, subchapter 1)

e NCG.S. § 7B-2902.9(a)(3) defines a Near fatality as “A case in
which a physician determines that a child is in serious or critical
condition as the result of sickness or injury caused by suspected
abuse, neglect, or maltreatment.”

If ANY of the following conditions are reported by a medical provider,
consider near fatality:
e Life-saving procedures have been performed (CPR, intubation)
e Child will be/was admitted to the Intensive Care Unit (ICU)*, as a
direct result of the injury and/or alleged neglect.

MALTREATMENT TYPES

Death/Near Death of a Child
Additional questions that can be asked to assist with determining whether to
accept a report include:

e Did an otherwise healthy child die of unknown causes?

e Was the caretaker co-sleeping with the child while under the influence?

e Did the child suffer a fatal gunshot wound unsupervised?

e Did the child overdose on any substance while unsupervised?

e Did the child drown in any type of body of water while they were
without supervision?

e Was there an unexplained or suspicious head trauma or internal injury?

Determination of condition by physician (serious or critical) can be made
verbally and/or in writing. Hospitals apply the terms “serious” or “critical”
with variability, depending on which physician specialty is queried (e.g.,
emergency department physician, intensive care unit physician, primary care
physician, etc.)

There is a distinction between an injury being of a serious nature versus a
child being determined to be in serious condition. The level and extent of
medical intervention may be an indicator in this distinction
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* Included is admission to pediatric intensive care unit or neonatal
intensive care unit requiring treatment to continue the function of vital
organ/s.

Human Trafficking

A report received regarding a child being directly or indirectly given,
promised, or received in exchange for anything regardless of whether
the child is used for labor or sex, or to satisfy a debt must be screened
for assessment. All reports with allegations of human trafficking must be
screened for assessment regardless of the perpetrator’s status as a
caretaker. Human trafficking does not require the perpetrator to be a
caretaker.

Child Sex Trafficking: A child who has been or is at risk of being recruited,
harbored, transported, provided, solicited, patronized, or obtained for
the purpose of sex acts, for anything given or received by any person.
This does not require an act of force, fraud, or coercion.

Child Labor Trafficking (involuntary servitude of a child): A child who has
been allowed, forced, or coerced into performing labor in settings or
activities that typically require employment. This can also include
children working long hours for little to no pay and working in places or
engaging in activities that are illegal for children to perform.

Child Trafficking: A child exchanged for anything or as settlement for a
debt. This does not have to include the child being used for labor or sex.

The condition of the child admitted to the ICU must be considered. If the child
is admitted for observation, such as after surgery, the condition may not
meet that of a near fatality.

Human Trafficking

In cases where the perpetrator is not a caretaker, it is critical that the child
welfare worker obtain as much information as the reporter has regarding the
caretaker and their knowledge of the situation
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Physical Abuse

Serious Physical Injury

Any report received where the allegations are serious physical injury
inflicted or allowed to be inflicted on a child by a caretaker or a
caretaker allowing others to inflict serious physical injury must be
accepted for assessment. Serious physical injury can be an intense, acute
injury OR characterized by the child suffering lasting pain. Injuries may
be current or in different stages of healing. Serious physical injury
examples include:

* Bruising, lacerations, welts, or swelling on the head, face, eyes,
throat, chest, belly/abdomen, genitalia, or other sensitive and
vulnerable areas of the body;

* Extensive bruising, welts, or swelling and any lacerations on legs,
arms, back, or buttock;

e Fractured/broken bones;

* Injuries requiring medical attention, even if medical attention has
not been sought; and

*  Patterns of burns consistent with maltreatment (e.g., cigarette
burns, immersion burns).

The injuries listed above are not intended to be an all-inclusive list but
are an indication of information that does warrant an Investigative
Assessment. Any allegations that result in the injuries listed above
regardless of the caretakers’ intent must be screened in as Abuse under
Severe Physical Injury.

Unexplained Physical Injury

Allegations received that include a serious physical injury to a child,
consistent with the definition above, that is not explained, or the
explanation is not plausible or consistent with the injury, or the
perpetrator is unknown must be accepted for assessment under this
item. This item must also be selected when any injury to a non-cruising
child that is not explained, or the explanation is not plausible or

Serious Physical Injury

Serious Physical Injury includes corporal punishment and injuries to the
child as a result of domestic violence. There may be circumstances where a
child has bruises that do not rise to the level of abuse but are considered
unsafe discipline (refer to the Unsafe Discipline Maltreatment Screening
Tool), as well as situations where there may be bruising and there is no
abuse or neglect. Gathering all the information the reporter has will be
important to making the correct screening decision. For reports of
discipline that do not result in serious physical injury and that have
harmed the child or present a risk of harm, including reports of children
three or younger subject to corporal punishment, review Physical abuse —
Excessive or cruel punishment and Neglect — Unsafe discipline.

Unexplained Physical Injury

These reports may come from a healthcare provider stating that the injury
is consistent with non-accidental injuries, or an injury observed by the
reporter where the child and caretaker are unable to provide an
explanation for how the injury occurred. It is also important to consider
the child’s age, developmental and activity level.
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consistent with the injury is reported no matter how minor. This is called
a Sentinel injury.

A Sentinel injury is a visible, poorly explained small injury such as a
bruise on any part of the body or intraoral (mouth) injury in a pre-
cruising child often from abuse and can precede more serious abuse.
“Cruising” means the child can pull to a stand and take a few steps
holding onto something. Children typically learn to do this between 8
and 11 months of age. A child with a small bruise from abuse may have
severe internal injuries, so additional medical screening is necessary.

Excessive or Cruel Punishment
This includes any child who is three years old or younger, non-verbal, or
limited by developmental, behavioral, or physical disabilities with any
marks or injuries as a result of physical discipline/corporal punishment.
Use of any of the following discipline must be accepted for assessment:
e Actions that cause injury or pain
e Forced ingestion of non-food items or dangerous amounts of food
or water
e Use of ropes, duct tape, blankets or other restraints that restricts
the child’s movement. This does not include placing a child in a
room or chair for a short period.
e Forced actions of the child such as extensive running, lifting, or
physical chores that are beyond the child’s reasonable ability
e Actively and intentionally withholding or restricting access to basic
needs such as food, clean drinking water, clothing, shelter, toilet
and hygiene facilities to the extent that the child endures pain,
illness, or injury.

Substantial Risk of Physical Harm

When a report is received with allegations that the caretaker is engaging
in dangerous behavior toward or near the child and the behavior could
cause serious physical injury the report must be accepted for
assessment. This includes:

Examples of Sentinel injuries include:

e Bruises, regardless of size or color of bruise, anywhere on the body

e Injuries inside and outside of the mouth (e.g., bruising to tongue, cuts
in mouth)

e Broken blood vessels or red spots in the eyes (e.g., subconjunctival
hemorrhages)

Substantial risk of physical harm should also be considered in situations
where caretakers are providing drugs or alcohol to children. The Intake
worker should consider the age and what substance was given to the child
as well the outcome of providing the substance to the child.
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e A punch to the head, stomach genitals, or other vulnerable body
area that leaves no visible injury

e Choking, smothering, or disruption of a child’s airway

e Driving a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol (illegal,
prescription or over the counter) with the child in the vehicle. This
does not require a criminal charge or an accident to have occurred
for acceptance of a new report. The act alone is abuse because it
“allows to be created” without their being a negative outcome.

This item also includes when a caretaker makes a credible threat of
serious physical harm to the child that would be accepted for child abuse
if carried out. A credible threat would include an articulated plan that is
likely to occur without intervention. A caretaker who is preoccupied with
thoughts or who describes situations in which they think about harming
a child should be screened in for assessment.

When a reporter expresses concerns about abuse occurring if a
caretaker is left unsupervised, a report must be accepted. A report must
also be accepted if there is credible information that a current caretaker
is responsible for the death or serious injury of a child due to abuse and
there is now another child living in the home. This also includes
situations when the caretaker knows that the environment has a
substantial risk for serious non-accidental abuse or injury and allows the
child to remain in the environment.

Sexual Abuse

Sexual Act on a Child by an Adult Caretaker or Other Adult in the
Household

Sexual abuse includes rape, intercourse, sodomy, fondling, oral sex,
incest, or sexual penetration-digital, penile, or foreign objects. Any
report that includes a child’s disclosure, medical evidence, and/or a
credible witnessed act of sexual contact by a caretaker or other adult in
the home on a child must be accepted. This could include:

In cases where the parent is withholding a medication child welfare should
also assess the substantial risk of physical harm when a medication is
being withheld and what impact the refusal has on the child.

When there are allegations of a parent’s provision of drugs or alcohol or
withholding of a medication and the behavior does not meet the statutory
threshold for abuse, neglect, Unsafe Supervision should be considered.

Sexual Abuse

For reports that include child on child sexual behavior to include siblings
engaging in sexual activity, unsafe supervision should be reviewed for a
screening decision.
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e Physical contact with the child’s breasts, buttocks, or genitals, or
with other parts of the child’s body in a sexualized manner.

e Directing, coercing, encouraging, allowing and/or forcing contact
between the child and the caretaker’s breasts, buttocks, genitals, or
other parts of the caretaker’s body in a sexualized manner.

Physical or Behavioral Indicators Consistent with Sexual Abuse

When there are concerns that a child has been harmed sexually, the
perpetrator is unknown, and the caretaker or adult household member
cannot be ruled out a report must be accepted for assessment. Some
indicators include:

e A pre-adolescent child that has a sexually transmitted infection, When the report for maltreatment includes a suspicion of a Sexually
symptoms of a sexually transmitted infection, or otherwise Transmitted Infection (STI), it is important to clarify the specific type of
unexplained injuries to the child’s genital or anal area. infection and the recommended treatment needs.

e Achild that has initiated or participated in sex acts that are outside
the realm of developmentally normal preadolescent exploration
and adolescent behavior. It may occur with caretakers, family
members, or peers. Consider the child’s age, developmental status,
and any power or age differential when assessing this item.

e A child that has initiated sexual acts or activities with caretakers,
family members, or any other adult in their life.

e A child that complains of pain in the genital or anal area with no
physical explanations for the pain.

Exposure to Sexually Explicit Conduct or Materials

The caretaker or other adult in the household knowingly permits or
provides child access to pornographic or harmful sexual material or the
witnessing of sexual acts must be accepted for an assessment. This
includes a caretaker or adult household member sending sexually
explicit photos or videos of themselves, “sexting,” and engaging in
sexually explicit phone calls (phone sex), video calls, or conversations
with a child. This does not include incidents that are accidental or
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inadvertent unless the report indicates that the behavior is persistent or
frequently occurring.

Sexual Exploitation

Any caretaker who photographs, films, or depicts a child in a sexually
suggestive or explicit way, including live streaming must be assessed.
This includes caretakers who allow, permit, or encourage a child in their
care to be used in a sexually suggestive or explicit way for the purpose of
photographing, filming, recording (audio, visual, or both), or live
performance or video. Caretakers who allow, permit, or encourage the
child to engage in sharing photos, videos, or live stream of themselves in
a sexually suggestive or explicit way must also be screened in for
assessment. If any of these activities involves the exchange of anything
for the activities listed above, the child sex trafficking item must also be
selected.

Knowingly Allowing a Person with a History of Sexual Offenses Against
Minors to Have Unsupervised and/or Unrestricted Access to the Child

In situations where there is unsupervised access or the concern for it to
exist with a child and an individual with a record of sexual crimes toward
children, or for whom credible evidence suggests there is a history of
child sexual abuse perpetration without a criminal record must be
accepted for abuse. This does not have to be a caretaker and can include
family members, neighbors, or friends of the caretaker who do not live
in the home and have unrestricted access to the home. Allegations can
include a knowing caretaker or one who should reasonably know the
history of the sexual offender. Reports should be accepted regardless of
whether the reporter is aware of the caretakers’ knowledge or not.

Substantial Risk of Sexual Abuse

When the report includes allegations that the caretaker’s behavior
causes a concern that the child is at substantial risk of sexual abuse a
report must be accepted. This includes but is not limited:

The worker must assess the totality of the allegations being presented
when determining if there is grooming taking place. It is inappropriate to
screen in a report when favoritism is the only thing being reported.
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e Grooming: verbal, written, or physical behavior not overtly sexual
but likely designed to prepare a child for future sexual abuse. This
could look like a deliberate and escalating pattern of actions taken
to lower a child’s inhibitions (e.g., treating the child as “more
special” than other children, talking about sexual topics that are age
inappropriate, commenting on physical traits/changes of the child,
escalating touching from innocent to inappropriate, and
“accidental” self-exposure by the adult).

e A caretaker who views or possesses child pornography.

Emotional Abuse, Mental Injury

Reports must be accepted when there are allegations that the
caretaker’s action or inaction has led to a child’s severe anxiety,
depression, withdrawal, or aggressive behavior towards themselves or
others. There may be single incidents or a pattern of behavior that
would be of lesser concern if it was a single incident. Examples include,
but are not limited to:

e A caretaker who rejects or refuses to acknowledge the child’s worth
and the legitimacy of the child’s needs by singling out one child to
criticize or punish, belittling the child, or shaming the child.

e A caretaker who threatens the child with being sent away or tells
the child he/she is unwanted.

e A caretaker who treats the child differently from other children in
the home, does not allow the child the same food as the rest of the
family and withholds other provisions provided to the rest of the
household, and/or physically separates the child from the family.

e A caretaker who publicly humiliates the child in the guise of
discipline (e.g., making an older child wear a diaper for bedwetting,
forcing the child to wear soiled clothes to school, removing the
child’s hair).
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Emotional abuse also includes a caretaker terrorizing and/or creating a
climate of fear by verbally assaulting or bullying the child with the
intention of causing the child to experience extreme fear. Actions could
include but are not limited to:

e A caretaker who harms and/or threatens harm to self, child, or
loved ones, including pets.

e A caretaker who harms animals in front of the child and/or places
the child in dangerous situations.

e A caretaker who makes credible threats or there are previous
situations and/or examples of the caretaker carrying out acts that
produce fear in the child that it will happen again.

e A child who is experiencing reasonable fears of retribution or
retaliation from the caretaker.

and/or circumstances associated with reported incidents.

When a caretaker uses isolation and ignoring in an extreme manner that
is to the detriment of the child, it must be assessed for emotional abuse.
This would be a caretaker who limits interactions, deprives the child of
essential stimulation and responses, or cuts the child off from normal
opportunities for social or cultural interaction, preventing the child from
forming familial bonds or friendships and making the child believe that
he/she is alone in the world. This would not include limited planned
ignoring of behaviors or time out.

Allegations must be screened if a caretaker tells the child to go ahead
and harm themself when the child threatens suicide.

Moral Turpitude, Encouraging and Enabling Delinquent Offense
Reports that include allegations that the caretaker encourages,
condones, or approves the commission of delinquent acts by the child
must be accepted. Acts include any activity by the child that would be
criminal for an adult, AND the commission of the acts is shown to be the
result of the encouragement and/or approval of the caretaker. This also

e Achild’s fearful response escalates at the mention of home, people,

Moral Turpitude, Encouraging and Enabling Delinquent Offense
When a caretaker supports or encourages smoking, consuming alcohol,
disregarding curfew laws, or other offenses that apply to juveniles (i.e.,
status offenses) they should be considered under neglect, unsafe
supervision, or other neglect allegations.
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includes a caretaker that places the burden of criminal activity on the When making screening decisions about emotional abuse, it is important
child. Some examples include but are not limited to a caretaker who has | to question the reporter about the child’s mental and physical status.
the child carry illegal drugs and/or participate in drug selling and/or
forcing, encouraging, or enabling a child to steal from individuals or It is concerning for possible emotional abuse if the parent/caretaker sees
businessef. Pl.ease note: When.the allegat.iorT involves s:ex trafficking the child as responsible for their problems. This could be a situation where
and exploitation, select the child sex trafficking allegation. one child has been identified as the scapegoat of the family, and the child

A report must also be accepted for moral turpitude in situations where b he bl ; hing th ithin the famil
the caretaker has knowledge that the child is engaging in illegal activities ears the blame for:anything that goes wrong within the family system.

and responds by encouraging it to continue.

NEGLECT

Physical Neglect Physical Neglect

All reports that allege a caretaker is not providing proper care, supervision, The necessary care of some children may exceed what is commonly

discipline, or necessary medical and/or remedial care must be accepted for considered normal. This may be the result of medical or mental health

assessment. This must be determined based on the needs of the child. conditions, developmental delays, and/or other child characteristics. In
cases where the child’s baseline requires additional care that the caretaker
is not providing should be assessed for the impact on the safety of the
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Unsafe Living Conditions

When information is received by the county child welfare that a child’s physical
living condition is harmful and/or contains hazards that have led or could lead to
the child’s injury or illness if not resolved. The allegations must be considered in
relation to the child’s age, developmental and physical concerns. Some examples
to consider (this is not an all-inclusive list) include a home:

That has been condemned or is a fire hazard.

With exposed heaters, gas fumes, or faulty wiring

With no access to fresh water, sanitary waste-management conditions
With broken windows or stairs that pose a danger to children

With human or animal excrement

With insect or vermin infestations

With unsecured/inappropriately stored and easily accessible firearms
With exposure to fentanyl and/or methamphetamine or other drug
manufacturing lab (A screened in case for fentanyl and/or
methamphetamine or other drug manufacturing lab must receive an
Investigative Assessment response)

That includes persistent unsafe sleeping conditions especially for infants
younger than one year old

With heavy traffic due to substance use or criminal activity.

Where another child was the victim of abuse or neglect.

An assessment of unsafe living conditions must also include situations when a
child is exposed to the elements. The caretaker must ensure that the child has
adequate shelter.

child. This should include resources and services that the family is
connected with to assist the child.

Unsafe Living Conditions

When considering whether a child has adequate shelter it is important to
consider whether the family has a shelter regardless of the temporary
nature of that space. It is also critical to consider the space itself and
whether the physical structure itself is safe. The state of the shelter is also
important in determining its safety.

Please Note: Substance use is no longer a separate maltreatment
type. The use of substances alone, regardless of its legal status or
whether it is taken as directed, is not considered neglect.
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Unsafe Clothing and Hygiene

Reports that include allegations that a caretaker is not meeting a child’s basic
needs for clothing and/or hygiene and it is impacting the child’s daily
activities or will be adversely impacted without intervention must be
accepted. This can be demonstrated by a child developing or suffering
worsening of an injury or illness (e.g., sores, infection, tooth pain or loss,
severe diaper rash, physical illness, hypothermia, or frostbite).

Unsafe Food/Nutrition

The report should be screened in when a caretaker is not providing sufficient
food or hydration to meet minimal nutritional requirements for the child.
When the only information available is that there is no food in the home, the
report must be accepted for assessment. The worker must include any
diagnosis or indicators of non-organic failure to thrive made by a qualified
medical professional.

Unsafe Supervision

When allegations include that the child is left alone or inadequately
supervised and the child has been injured or the child could have been
injured due to the caretaker’s lack of attention or supervision must be
accepted for assessment. This includes situations in which the caretaker is

Unsafe Food/Nutrition

A child that experiences significant lack of food or hunger due to lack
of food should be considered for screen in, but the intake worker
should consider statements from the reporter about what food is in
the home as well as access to food through schools, family, and
neighbors’” homes where the children spend significant time.
Consideration should be given to community resources such as meal
programs and food distribution that the family has accessed to meet
their needs.

The parent/caretaker needs to provide sufficient food for the child to
prevent nutritional deficiencies. A report would be accepted in
situations where adequate food has not been provided for a
timeframe that interferes with the health needs of the child based on
age and other conditions. A CPS Assessment to determine whether
food neglect exists must occur when a child shows symptoms of
malnutrition, dehydration, or food poisoning.

Unsafe Supervision

The intake worker should gather additional information about any
child that has been left unsupervised to include whether there are
measures in place including a support system, ability and knowledge of
the child to make contact in the case of an emergency. These things
should be considered in relation to the child’s age, developmental
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physically present, but unable or unwilling to meet the child’s supervision
needs. Examples include but must not be limited to the following:

e A child younger than 8 years old has been left alone.

e Achild of any age that has been left unsupervised with
responsibilities beyond the child’s capabilities.

e Achildin the care of an older sibling or minor babysitter who cannot
or will not provide adequate care and supervision.

e The adult caretaker is not meeting the child’s needs for supervision,
considering the child’s age and developmental status.

e Child-on-child sexual abuse occurs or continues due to lack of
supervision.

Unsafe Discipline

Children who are four and older who receive reports that include physical
discipline that results in minor bruises, welts, or other soft-tissue injuries on the
buttocks, back, legs, and/or arms that do not require medical attention must be
accepted for assessment.

This is not the appropriate screening decision for children of any age with
allegations that include choking, blocking the child’s airway and/or punching or
kicking in the head, stomach, or vulnerable areas, regardless of whether an injury
is visible. These allegations must be screened as physical abuse.

ability, and mental health. This consideration should also include the
location of the child and the length of time alone and the time of day.
When the babysitter or older sibling providing supervision is a minor
their age, developmental ability, and mental health should also be
considered in regard to whether they are capable of providing care to
others. If a caretaker is aware of a child’s previous behaviors that
indicated that they needed a more structured supervision plan and the
caretaker failed to put one in place, a report should be considered
based on the safety of that child with the past behaviors.

It is important to get sufficient information at Intake regarding the
behavior of the parent(s), as well as the behavior of the minor
child(ren). When the parent has no knowledge of the child’s sexual
activity, the child’s age, behaviors, and developmental level as well as
any power and control dynamics between the children impact whether
a CPS Assessment should be accepted.

In situations where a caretaker is consuming alcohol/drugs with the
child, unsafe supervision should be considered as the parent may not
be providing adequate supervision.

Unsafe Discipline

The intake worker should consider the totality of the circumstances,
including severity of discipline, child’s age, any developmental delays,
and whether the child is medically fragile or otherwise more
vulnerable when determining if the punishment is screened as neglect
or abuse. It may be necessary to review Physical Abuse — Serious
physical injury inflicted by action of caretaker or Physical Abuse —
Excessive or cruel punishment to make the correct screening decision.
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Children three years old and younger should not be subject to corporal
punishment. Any allegations of marks on a child three years old or younger
because of physical discipline must be screened for Physical Abuse-Excessive or
Cruel Punishment.

Exposure to Violence in the Home/Injurious Environment

In situations where a child has been exposed to or is aware of violence and
there is a lack of attention to the impact it has on the child’s welfare must be
accepted for assessment. This item also includes an environment that is
injurious to the child. Examples include but must not be limited to:

e Achildin a household where an adult is the victim of physical assault,
sexual assault, or mental injury by an intimate partner.

e A child who has seen, heard, tried to intervene in, or is aware of
physical altercations, verbal threats of violence, or intimidation
between adults in the home. This could be a single incident that
resulted in injury to or arrest of a caretaker or involve the use of a
weapon. This could also be a pattern of behavior that would be of
lesser concern if it was a single incident.

In reports where allegations include a child who has been injured or
threatened with injury, Physical Abuse must also be screened.

Substance Affected Infant

Any infant born exposed to substances that are not attributed to medical
treatment to include medication-assisted treatment, and exposure is
indicated by any of the following:

e Infant's positive toxicology screen for drugs or alcohol, other than
prescribed AND
e amedical impact to the child (i.e. hospitalization as a direct
result of withdrawal or medical condition that requires ongoing
medical care that is directly attributed to the drugs or alcohol in
the child's system); OR

Exposure to Violence in the Home/Injurious Environment

The worker should consider that perpetrators of intimate partner violence
(IPV), previously referred to as domestic violence, engage in a pattern of
coercive control against one or more intimate partners. This pattern of
behavior may continue after the end of a relationship or when the
partners no longer live together. The perpetrator’s actions can directly
involve, target, and impact children in the family.

If there is an allegation of abuse directly related to IPV, the alleged
perpetrator is the caretaker who is the alleged perpetrator of IPV. The
adult victim of IPV should not be identified as a perpetrator unless the
allegations include them playing an active role in the safety concerns
of the child.

Substance Affected Infant

Medication-assisted treatment means the use of pharmacological
medications administered, dispensed, and prescribed in a Substance
Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)—
accredited and certified opioid treatment program or by a certified
practitioner licensed in North Carolina to practice medicine, in
combination with counseling and behavior therapies to promote a
whole-patient approach to the treatment of substance use disorder.

During the screening process, a child welfare agency may share
confidential information with public and private agencies that are
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e demonstrating behavioral impact on the parent's ability to care
for the infant; OR

e there are other maltreatment concerns, including the parent’s
ability to care for the infant OR a pattern of substantiations or
findings.

e A mother’s positive toxicology screen at delivery for drugs or alcohol,
other than as prescribed AND there is the demonstration of a
behavioral impact on mother’s ability to care for the infant;

e A mother’s positive toxicology screen at delivery for drugs or alcohol,
other than as prescribed AND a pattern of substantiations, findings,
or services for substance use;

e Aninfant has one of the following diagnoses: fetal alcohol syndrome
(FAS), partial FAS, neurobehavioral disorder associated with prenatal
alcohol exposure, alcohol-related birth defects, or alcohol-related
neurodevelopmental disorder.

If a report alleges that an infant had a positive drug toxicology screen or is
experiencing withdrawal symptoms AND it is known that the drug is a
medication prescribed to the mother that is being used appropriately (as
prescribed by the provider), then the report should not be accepted on this
basis alone. This includes medication-assisted treatment of opioid use
disorders.

Parent, Guardian, or Custodian Has Refused to Follow the
Recommendations of the Juvenile and Family Team

Any reports where the parent, guardian, or custodian is refusing to follow the
recommendations of the Juvenile and Family Team, AND this refusal causes
abuse, neglect and/or dependency or puts the juvenile at substantial risk of
harm must be accepted for assessment. There must be abuse, neglect, and/or
dependency or a substantial risk of harm to the child as a result of non-
compliance for a report to be accepted for assessment.

Juvenile and Family Team is a component of Juvenile Justice specifically
designed to develop court-ordered recommendations for services and

providing or facilitating protective services. To comply with
confidentiality laws and to ensure that a plan of safe care can be
created for every infant, it is important that the CMARC referral be
made during the screening of the report and prior to deciding to the
screening decision. The timing of the referral is critical because
confidentiality laws will prohibit a child welfare agency from making
the referral to CMARC if the report has already been screened out and
child protective services are no longer being provided.

Please Note: Substance use is no longer a separate maltreatment
type. The use of substances alone, regardless of its legal status or
whether it is taken as directed, is not considered neglect. It becomes
problematic when the substance use rises to the level that the
caretaker is willing to place their needs to satisfy the addiction above
providing proper care to the child. The worker should gather as much
information as possible about the caretaker’s use and its impact on the
safety of the child. The intake worker should consider whether the
behaviors should be accepted under one of the other maltreatment
types and document the substance use in the narrative box.

Parent, Guardian, or Custodian Has Refused to Follow the
Recommendations of the Juvenile and Family Team

All allegations should be considered and may require the child welfare
worker to review other Maltreatment types. The worker should gather
as much information as possible regarding the impact the non-
compliance of the parent is having on the safety of the child.

The juvenile court counselor serves the vulnerable juvenile through
case management services for up to nine months. Article 27A includes
the following list of services that can be recommended:
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compliance for vulnerable juveniles, defined as “any juvenile who, while less
than 10 years of age but at least 6 years of age, commits a crime or infraction
under State law or under an ordinance of local government, including
violation of the motor vehicle laws, and is not a delinquent juvenile.”

Medical Neglect

Physical Health

When allegations include a caretaker delaying, refusing, or failing to seek,
obtain, and/or maintain necessary medical, dental, hearing, and/or vision
care and the caretaker knows or should have known that the decision would
adversely impact the child must be accepted for report.

This item includes a caretaker missing or not scheduling appointments,
rehabilitative therapies, or other necessary medical, dental, hearing, or vision
care and this resulted in the child’s deteriorating health, lingering illness, or
exacerbating an injury.

e Attend all scheduled meetings with the juvenile court
counselor.

e Attend all parental responsibility classes.

e  Obtain medical, surgical, psychiatric, or psychological
evaluation or treatment for the vulnerable juvenile or
parent/guardian/custodian.

e Comply with recommendations of the juvenile court
counselor.

Medical Neglect

Physical Health

If the child has exceptional needs, such as being medically fragile, which
the parent/caretaker does not or cannot meet, a CPS Assessment may
be warranted. Such actions may include but are not limited to the
following:

e Withholding or failing to obtain or maintain medically
necessary treatment for a child with acute or chronic medical
conditions that impact quality of life or are life threatening.

e Failing to provide comfort measures to infants and children
with a life-threatening condition.

Failure to provide the child with immunizations or routine well child
visits in and of itself does not constitute neglect. A parental decision
not to provide a child with behavior modification medication in and of
itself does not constitute neglect.

An allegation of neglect based solely on a child having head lice is not
appropriate for CPS Assessment. This condition could arise in any
number of ways and is not, in and of itself, an indicator of neglect.
Collecting information regarding the parent/caretaker’s attempts
towards treating head lice, as well as, whether public health has
intervened is important.
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Mental Health

A report should be accepted when a caretaker delays, refuses, or fails to seek,
obtain, and/or maintain necessary mental health and substance use
treatment and the caretaker knows or should have known that the decision
would adversely impact the child.

This item includes a caretaker:

Missing appointments, therapies, or other mental/behavioral health
care for a child with a diagnosed mental/behavioral health condition.
Withholding or failing to obtain or maintain necessary treatment for
a child with life-threatening, acute, or chronic mental/behavioral
health conditions.

Failing to obtain or withholding substance use treatment for a child
with a known substance use concern.

Educational Neglect

Any caretaker that fails to ensure that their school-age child (ages seven
through 15, or age of enrollment if younger than seven) is provided with an
education must be assessed for educational neglect.

Some additional examples of allegations that must be accepted include:

A child between the ages of seven through 15 (school-age child) who
is not enrolled in school AND is not registered in a homeschooling
program with the Division of Non-Public Education.

A reporting source that is not school personnel and has no details
about the school’s action to engage the caretaker with concerns that
a school-age child has excessive unexcused absences during the
academic year that are negatively impacting the child.

A reporting source that is not school personnel and has no details
about the school’s action to engage the caretaker with concerns that
a school-age child is not receiving a sanctioned education.

Mental Health

Mental health conditions include serious depression, anxiety, and
substance use concerns with behaviors such as:

e Suicidal/homicidal ideation, action, or attempts
e Self-harm
e Overdose/near overdose

A situation in which a child refusing to attend their scheduled
appointments with a therapist while the caretaker is making every
effort to support and encourage the child to keep the appointment is
not sufficient information to accept a report. A parental decision to
decline behavior modification medication does not necessarily
constitute neglect.

Educational Neglect
In North Carolina, children between the ages of seven and sixteen

must be enrolled in a public school or an equivalent or receive private
instruction through home schooling. This includes children under the
age of seven who have been enrolled in school (i.e. a five year old who
has been enrolled in Kindergarten) Educational neglect may take the
form of failure to home school, to register, or to enroll a child of
mandatory school age. Educational neglect may take the form of
permitted chronic truancy, failure to enroll or provide alternative
education, or inattention to special education needs.

When a report is made by school personnel, the worker should gather
additional information regarding the school’s engagement with the
family and any attempts to engage the caretaker. N.C.G.S. §115C-378
describes a school principal's responsibilities with regards to children
who are repeatedly absent and the circumstances in which a principal
must notify DSS regarding unlawful absences. The allegation of chronic
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e A caretaker who refuses to allow or fails to obtain recommended
special education or remedial education services for a school-age
child.

e Aschool-age child who has excessive unexcused absences this
academic year, and despite formal intervention by the school, the
school reports that the caretaker has been unable to be contacted,
has been uncooperative with school officials, or cannot provide an
appropriate explanation for the child’s absences. Intervention by DSS
must occur only after the school's efforts have proven to be unable to
ensure the child's attendance.

e Other situations in which the information provided indicates that the
caretaker refuses to allow or appears unable to support the child in
attending school, including allegations that child is working or caring
for other family members rather than meeting minimal schooling
requirements or school attendance.

Transfer of Custody (lllegal Placement/Adoption)
When a report includes allegations that a caretaker transferred the physical

custody of the child in violation of an adoption, court order, or lawful
authorization to an individual that does not have a substantial relationship
with the child AND is not a relative must be accepted for assessment. This
includes:
e A caretaker was paid or accepted an offer of payment (it does not
have to be monetary) for the placement or adoption of a child.

e A caretaker who places a child with an alternate caregiver without the
authority to do so.

e A child placed in violation of the Interstate Compact on the Placement
of Children.

PARENT REQUESTS TO DISMISS SAFE SURRENDER
A parent who safely surrendered their infant and has contacted the agency to
regain custody of the infant must be accepted for assessment.

truancy does not pertain to children who willfully refuse to attend
school. When the report is from the school, they should report a
completion of the entire court process and the disposition prior to the
acceptance of a report for educational neglect.

The North Carolina Court of Appeals found neglect where a father
refused to send his mentally handicapped child to public school, and
its special education programs, because the father insisted on
educating his children at home. In re Devone, 86 N.C. App. 57 (1987)
the court noted that the child needed additional stimulation outside
the home and that denial of the remedial care available in the public
schools constituted neglect and lack of proper care.

Transfer of Custody (lllegal Placement/Adoption)

An adoptive parent, or their designee may pay medical expenses,
counseling services expenses, and/ or reasonable or actual expenses
for ordinary living expenses, etc. for a mother.

ICPC is a legally and administratively sound means of placing children
across state lines with the same safeguards and services that are
available when they are placed within their own state. Placements
across state lines require the cooperation of agencies in ensuring that
potential placements are evaluated for suitability and that supervision
will be provided for the time necessary to determine that the
placement is in the child's best interest.

PARENT REQUESTS TO DISMISS SAFE SURRENDER

This can only be selected in circumstances in which the agency
determined that the infant’s surrender met criteria for Safe Surrender
infant, and the person requesting custody can demonstrate, or there is
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reason to believe, they are a parent that safely surrendered the infant.
Please see § 7B-527. Rights of surrendering parent for additional
information.

The worker should accept the report for Family Assessment as long as
there are no other contributing factors or additional maltreatment
allegations that would require an Investigative Assessment.
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ABANDONMENT

A report must be accepted when the reporter alleges that the parent is not willing
to provide care for the child and the non-legal caretaker no longer wishes or is no
longer able to continue. This includes the parent/caretaker:

Establishing a new residence without the child.

Leaving the child longer than the planned time without communication or
support for the child

Has deserted the child without a plan for return.

Refuses to accept the child back home AND has not participated in finding
an alternative placement.

Removed the child from the home and/or refuses access and has not
provided a suitable alternative.

NCGS § 7B-302(a) requires workers to send a request to law enforcement to
investigate through the North Carolina Center for Missing Persons and other
National and State resources to determine whether the child has been reported
missing when the report alleges abandonment.

ABANDONMENT

Abandonment is a conscious decision made by the parent/caretaker
to leave the child and a clear demonstration that the
parent/caretaker does not intend to resume parental responsibilities
for the child. In reports where there are no safety concerns and the
person providing care is seeking a legal arrangement to continue
providing care for the child, they should be directed to the appropriate
county resources rather than accepting it for assessment. It may be
necessary for the child welfare worker to consult with their legal counsel
for the appropriate county resources.

In cases where there are no safety issues and the person providing care is
having trouble enrolling the child in school, the worker should refer them

to NCGS § 115C-366.

The child welfare worker should elicit additional information in cases
involving a mental health or medical facility who is reporting that a
caretaker is refusing to come and get a child. If the caretaker is unable to
provide care for the child safely in the home, then a dependency
screening decision should be reviewed.

Informal caretakers are placements made by the parent, custodian or
legal guardian outside of child welfare input. In cases where informal
caretakers who do not have a legal arrangement are seeking
assistance in achieving a legal arrangement; and there are no safety
concern, should be directed to appropriate county resources rather
than screening in the referral for abandonment. A worker should
consult with their legal counsel on the appropriate county resources
to assist the informal caretaker with accessing legal custody.
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DEPENDENCY

When a caretaker is unable to care for a child as a result of incarceration,
hospitalization, physical or mental incapacity AND there is no safe alternative a
report must be accepted. Dependency also includes when a caretaker’s ability is
substantially impaired to the extent that they are unable to meet the child’s basic
needs. This could be due to a prescribed medication, physical illness, or emotional
state that affects alertness, availability, and decision making. A report for
dependency should be accepted in cases where a child is being discharged from a
hospital or facility and the caretaker has communicated that they are unable to
meet the needs for the child safely in the home AND has participated in
attempting to find an appropriate placement.

SAFE SURRENDER INFANT
A report for dependency must be accepted for all infants less than 30 days old
who are safely surrendered by a parent voluntarily delivering the infant to one of
the safe persons listed below and does not express an intent to return for the
infant.
e A health care provider who is on duty or at a hospital or at a local or
district health department or at a nonprofit community health center.
e Alaw enforcement officer
e Asocial services worker who is on duty or at a local department of social
services (DSS).
e A certified emergency medical service worker or firefighter.

If, after the infant has been safely surrendered, the parent returns for the child the
report must be accepted for a family assessment to ensure the safety of the
home.

DEPENDENCY

If the caretaker has made a care plan for the child with a safe adult or
is otherwise able to safely mitigate the impact of their incapacity on
the child, this item should not be selected.

SAFE SURRENDER INFANT

It is important to note that in North Carolina the infant must be safely
surrendered to a person. While there are instances listed in statute that
identify places, the requirement is that the child be given to one of the
identified “safe” persons.

NCGS 7B-522 states that any of the safe persons listed who takes an
infant into temporary custody must perform any act necessary to protect
the physical health and well-being of the infant and immediately notify
the department of social services in the county where the infant is
surrendered. If the child the child is surrendered to any of the safe
persons the individual may inquire as to the parents' identities, the date
of birth of the infant, any relevant medical history, and the parents'
marital status and may advise the parent that if the parent provides that
information, it may facilitate the adoption of the child. However, the
parent must also be notified that they are not required to provide the
information. The individual, if practical, shall provide the surrendering
parent with written information regarding the next steps.
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The purpose of the response matrix is to provide structure for the determination of how quickly the CPS Assessment must be initiated. The response
matrix will be introduced in the CWS for all reports accepted for assessment. Workers will be directed to the appropriate response matrix, based on
allegation type. If the report includes allegations on both response matrices, the worker will complete Matrix A (Child Fatality, Near Fatality, Human
Trafficking, Abuse, and Abandonment Allegations) before moving to Matrix B if additional allegations exist. The worker should select all conditions that

apply.

Consider child’s age and developmental status, allegation severity, access of alleged perpetrator, and presence in the response criteria. After choosing
the correct criteria the matrix will provide the appropriate response time (immediate, within 24-hours, or within 72-hours). For an immediate response,
initiation must occur at once, immediately after completion of the Intake report. The response should never exceed 24 hours for a report alleging
physical or sexual abuse. The response should never exceed 72 hours for a report alleging neglect or dependency.

The responsibility to ensure safety begins at Intake. If the county child welfare services agency selects an initiation timeframe other than what the
corresponding Response Matrix indicates, the decision must be documented and approved by a supervisor or higher management level. A report
response time may be changed to initiate sooner, but CWS will not allow a report to be initiated at a later time.

DETERMINING RESPONSE TRACKS

All reports accepted for assessment for child fatality, near fatality, human
trafficking, abuse, and abandonment must be screened in as an Investigative
Assessment.

Reports accepted for neglect or dependency are Family Assessments except
when they include any of the following, the response type must be changed to
an Investigative Assessment and responded to immediately or within 24 hours
depending on the characteristics:

e Achildis exposed to a methamphetamine lab

e Medical neglect of a disabled infant with a life-threatening condition

e Achildis in the custody of child welfare or placed in foster care, group
home, or residential care

e A physician or law enforcement officer has taken emergency custody

e Achildis admitted to the hospital due to suspected abuse or neglect
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DETERMINING RESPONSE TIMES

Immediate

The situation is currently unsafe/harmful or will deteriorate to unsafe/harmful
within the next 24 hours. Consider the child’s age and developmental status,
allegation severity, access of alleged perpetrator, and presence or absence of
other responsible adults.

An injury to a child age 3 years or younger.

A child is afraid to go home and/or has a credible fear of experiencing abuse in
the care of the alleged perpetrator within the next 24 hours.

It is critical to assess the information available regarding the current
situation and expected safety or lack of safety for children who are
limited by disability or are 5 years of age or younger. This includes
but is not limited to a life-threatening situation in the next 24 hours,
a perpetrator who will have access in the next 24 hours and whether
there is a high risk of harm, and access to weapons, illegal drugs, etc.

Child is exhibiting behavioral indicators of fear, and this fear is
attributable to an allegation and/or the reporter provides credible
evidence of a threat to the child’s immediate safety. Child’s fear of
parental response or discipline due to poor grades or behavior must
reach the level of concern for child safety. Children express fear
through different, sometimes contradictory, behaviors. These may
include:

e Kicking, screaming, biting, spitting, throwing things;

e Shaking, quivering, crying uncontrollably;

e Running away, hiding, trying to escape the predicted
dismissal or departure time;

e Zoning out, emotionally distancing from others;

e Hypervigilance/exaggerated response to doors opening,
phones ringing, cars approaching;

e Physically distancing self from others. Finding a space (under
table, desk, bed where visual and auditory input are
decreased) and avoiding being touched or making eye
contact;

e Covering ears, closing eyes, and tucking in arms and legs as
much as possible; and

e Seeking protection behind an adult, under the adult’s desk,
or in the corner of an adult’s office/home.
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A child needs urgent or emergent medical or mental health care for iliness or
injury due to alleged abuse.

A family may leave their current location and CPS may not be able to find
them.

Forensic considerations would be compromised with a slower response.

No food in the home or otherwise available to the children.

A child under the age of 8 is currently alone.

A child 12 years or younger who self-reports to the county DSS agency.
A Safe Surrender Infant

When abuse allegations do not meet immediate response criteria then they
should be given a 24-hour response.

The child requires immediate medical attention due to serious
condition or injury. If attention is not provided, the child’s health
and well-being will be permanently affected. This includes injury
treatment and/or evaluation that is needed or currently in progress,
including dental care. Do not include medical examination
completed solely for forensic purposes.

Information shared by the reporter indicates the family may flee, the
child may become inaccessible, or workers will be unable to locate
the family. Examples include but are not limited to the following:

e  The caretaker and/or child threaten to flee or have a history
of fleeing from CPS or police.

e Home address is unknown, and caretaker and/or child is
currently at school, hospital, police station, or other known
location.

e The family is known to be homeless and is currently at a
non-shelter facility open for limited hours (e.g., library,
recreation center, meal distribution/foodbank center).

Physical evidence would be compromised OR there is reason to
believe statements will be altered if the response does not begin
immediately.
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Within 24 hours

A child has visible injuries due to neglect that do not require urgent or
emergency medical care.

The situation is currently unsafe/harmful or will deteriorate to unsafe/harmful
within the next 72 hours. Consider the child’s age and developmental status,
allegation severity, and presence or absence of other responsible adults.

A child needs urgent or emergent medical or mental health care for an iliness
or injury due to alleged neglect.

Within 72 hours
When neglect allegations do not meet the criteria for a response within 24
hours then they should be given a 72-hour response.

It is critical to assess the information available regarding the current
situation and expected safety or lack of safety for children who are 5
years or younger or limited by disability. This includes but is not
limited to the following:

e A suicidal child whose caretaker is unable/unwilling to take
protective action

e A substance-exposed newborn who has been or will be
discharged in next 24 hours

e Maedical neglect of a disabled infant who is hospitalized and
will be discharged in the next 24 hours

e A child who is hospitalized due to concerns of abuse or
neglect and will be discharged in the next 24 hours

e A child has access to weapons, illegal drugs, dangerous
chemicals

e Leaking gas from a stove or a heating unit

e Lack of food in the home and information that the child has
not been fed

e Excessive garbage, human, and/or animal waste that
threatens the child’s health

The child requires immediate medical attention due to serious
condition or injury. If not provided, the child’s health and well-being
will be permanently affected. This includes injury treatment and/or
evaluation that is needed or currently in progress, including dental
care. Do not include medical examination completed solely for
forensic purposes.
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Allegation Characteristics

Response Track

NEGLECT AND DEPENDENCY ALLEGATIONS

When the report includes neglect and/or dependency allegations only, the
screener will be directed to this matrix, which identifies criteria for both
response time (immediate, within 24 hours, within 72 hours) and response
track (Investigative Assessment or Family Assessment).

If response track for neglect or dependency includes any of the following, the
response must be changed to investigative assessment response:

e A child exposed to a methamphetamine lab

e Medical neglect of a disabled infant with a life-threatening condition

e Achildisin the custody of child welfare or placed in foster care, a
group home, or residential care

e A physician or law enforcement officer has taken emergency custody

e Achild is admitted to the hospital due to suspected abuse or neglect

Investigative Assessment

Allegations that do not meet criteria for an Investigative Assessment.

Family Assessment
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CHILD FATALITY, NEAR FATALITY, HUMAN TRAFFICKING, ABUSE, AND ABANDONMENT ALLEGATIONS

When the report includes an allegation of child fatality, near fatality, human trafficking, abuse, or abandonment
(physical, sexual, emotional, moral), the worker will be directed to this decision matrix. This should be checked
when the report includes one of the criteria below:

A child fatality with concerns that abuse or neglect contributed, and other children are in the home

Near fatality of a child

Abandonment of a child

The situation is currently unsafe/harmful or will deteriorate to unsafe/harmful within the next 24

hours. Consider child’s age and developmental status, allegation severity, access of alleged

perpetrator, and presence or absence of other responsible adults.

e Child is afraid to go home and/or has a credible fear of experiencing abusein the care of the alleged
perpetrator within the next 24 hours.

e A child needs urgent or emergent medical or mental health care for iliness or injury due to alleged
abuse.

e A family may leave their current location and CPS may not be able to find them.

e Forensic considerations would be compromised with a slower response.

e A child under the age of 8 who is currently alone.

e Achild 12 years or younger who self-reports to the county DSS agency

Immediate

Initiation must occur at once,
immediately after completion of
the intake report.

The system will allow the worker
and/or supervisor to check
“other” but there must be a
reason included for a faster
response time.

Any abuse allegations that do not meet immediate response criteria above.

Within 24 hours

This should be checked when the report includes one of the criteria below:
e A Safe Surrender infant
e The situation is currently unsafe/harmful or will deteriorate to unsafe/harmful within the next 24 hours.
Consider child’s age and developmental status, allegation severity, and presence or absence of other
responsible adults.
e A child needs urgent or emergent medical or mental health care for illness or injury due to alleged
neglect.

Immediate

Initiation must occur at once,
immediately after completion of
the intake report.
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e Achild is afraid to go home and/or has a credible fear of experiencing abuse in the care of the alleged
perpetrator within the next 24 hours.

e A family may leave their current location and CPS may not be able to find them.

e A child under the age of 8 who is currently alone.

e Forensic considerations would be compromised with a slower response.

e Achild 12 years or younger self-reports to the county DSS agency.

e Achild has visible injuries due to neglect that do not require urgent or emergent medical care.

e The situation will likely deteriorate to an unsafe/harmful situation within the next 72 hours. Consider the
child’s age and developmental status, allegation severity, access of alleged perpetrator, and presence or
absence of other responsible adults.

e Investigative assessments not already identified as immediate or within 24 hours

Within 24 hours

Allegations that do not meet the criteria for an immediate response or a response within 24 hours.

Within 72 hours
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